Uncategorized

The Children’s Mite

Mark 12: 42-44 “But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a fraction of a penny. Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, ‘I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the treasure than all the others. They gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything- all she had to live on’.”

I want to tell you a story.

Once there were some beautiful young children in a land far away. They lived on two meals a day and received one new outfit a year. They worked hard for very little money, and they used the money they earned to buy clothing, shoes, and school supplies, not toys or candy, or movie tickets like many children might do. These beautiful children heard a story about an orphan boy miles and miles away from them. They learned that a mother was coming to rescue him and call him her very own. They learned that she needed money for the long journey and they wanted to be part of helping this sweet boy find his way home.

So they gave. They gave from their hard earned money. The dug into their pockets and between them all, they gave $100 to help a little boy who had less than they, find his way home.

The $100 they gave was equal to 2 months salary for an uneducated adult in their country. One of these beautiful young girls cleans rabbit cages 6 days a week in order to earn $2/month. Another boy’s weekly allowance for the chores he is able to find is $1.30/week. When asked by an American, if he was rich, the boy replied, “Nahhh, but I am rich in heaven.”

Every month when these children are paid for the chores that they do, they put some of their money into a giving envelope, and when the money in the envelope builds, they find a child in need to give the money to. When they were told about “Ivan” from a missionary, who is a friend of mine, they decided to give the money that was in their giving envelope to help with his adoption.

I can barely finish writing this and I have no words to explain how humbled and CHALLENGED I am by their gift.

I hope that you are challenged too. Challenged to give. Challenged to love.
I encourage you to challenge your own heart in giving today.
I encourage you to read this to your children and encourage them to give.

And now I’d like you to meet these beautiful children. The children of Nepal, who will always and forever be my friends. I’m sure I will probably never meet them this side of heaven, but when I do meet them, I am certain that their crowns will be dripping with jewels, and I will wrap my arms around them all and thank them for reflecting the very heart of Jesus to me.

If you feel challenged by these beautiful children and would like to join them by giving $10, $100, or even $1000, please READ IVAN’S STORY HERE, and then CLICK HERE to give.

2 thoughts on “The Children’s Mite

Leave a comment