Uncategorized

Please Pray for Our Family

As some of you may know this morning we lost our dear brother Derek Loux to a tragic car accident. Please see the letter below that was sent out to our IHOP community in regards to our recent loss. We love you all so much and would treasure your prayers during this difficult time.

Dear IHOP family,

Derek Loux, who was such an important part of our IHOP family for many years, is now in the presence of his Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  Early this morning as he was traveling home from Colorado, Derek was killed in an automobile accident when his car hit a patch of black ice.  Derek had been in Colorado to receive more extensive training in how to minister to victims of human trafficking,

For years, this precious man of God has faithfully served his Lord and our Missions Base in so many areas, including helping pioneer the Forerunner Music Academy, where he served as director.  Derek was part of the IHOP-KC senior leadership team, a worship leader in the House of Prayer, and a frequent IHOP-KC conference speaker.  He has recorded professionally as a musician, singer and songwriter; including his albums Paper Religion and Fragrant Burning.  Before joining IHOP-KC, he served as the director of IHOP-Indianapolis for four years.

Derek’s life passion was adopting and restoring orphans; he pioneered the vision of the Orphan Justice Center – a haven of restoration for rescued orphans.  OJC recently become an official part of IHOP.  His tireless voice for the weak and voiceless indelibly marked us all. How we will miss him.
Renee and the children will need so very much love and support, not only in these first weeks, but for many years. In the immediate, Pamela Stead will spearhead all practical care for the family.  Please contact her (pamelastead@ihop.org) if you want to be involved in practical helps. We ask you to please give the Loux family (immediate and extended) privacy to grieve, and only go to the home if invited. There will be many ways to give – meals, childcare, home care, finances. More details will follow soon on how you can give to this precious family, as well as Memorial plans.

We do not grieve as those who have no hope, but oh how we grieve. For Renee, for children who have lost their earthly father,  and for our family who has lost a marvelous comrade.  Until that Day when He dries every tear…we mourn with the Loux family.

The IHOP Leadership Team

26 thoughts on “Please Pray for Our Family

  1. I’m weeping, weeping with you. I have no words, but many tears with you guys. I’m so sorry. I know Jesus can offer ALL you need, praying for Him to be ever present and near. With all our love.
    the Kovacs’

  2. What an awful tragedy. What an immense loss for Renee and the precious children and all of you in their family and among their friends. So sorry for your loss. I will definitely be praying for you all, and you remain constantly in my thoughts.

  3. He had amazing heart for what he loved. I am sad to hear the news that he passed away. My love goes out to the family. I will keep the family in prayer.

  4. This is my first time visiting your blog and I’m so very sorry for your loss.It’s sad to lose a young person so full of life. My brother died at 27, and this year I’ve lost my father 3 uncles and 1 aunt. It’s been tough but we get through it with the help of God. I’m sure he’s touched so many lives and all the remarkable things and the healing he brought to others will be something that will live on. I pray that the emptiness in your hearts be filled with the knowledge that he is rejoicing in the presence of ou Lord and Saviour Jesus.

  5. Oh, Tracie, there are no words. Praying that He surrounds your family with His comfort and support. Celebrating with Derek, Christmas with Christ.

  6. We are so sorry for the loss of your beloved husband and father. We weep with you and want to hug you, Renee.
    May the Holy Spirit comfort you, give you peace and much grace in the days ahead.

  7. Their adoption stories are inspirational. It is obvious that they have been the hands and feet of Jesus to the world around them. What words would be adequate to say… other than I thank Derek and Renee for their love and their example of what it is to put faith into action. Though I didn’t know Derek personally he seemed to me to be a walking testimony of the goodness of God. Can we ask any more?

  8. I am so sorry for your incredible loss. Our prayers are with you and your entire family during this difficult time. Praying God would be the lifter of your heads, your balm and His presence to be real to you.

  9. You all have my deepest condolences. I am praying that you will find understanding out of this tragic situation. I know this will be a time of wondering why. Just know that the Lord is your refuge and your strength. Be encouraged through it all I know He will bring you all through. God Bless!

  10. I am so sorry for your loss. I am new to this blog, but I understand how great of a loss this is. God now has one of his devoted warriors sitting by his side. I will be praying for the Loux family tonight.

    My deepest sincerity,

    Kasey

  11. Words can not express my heart felt condolences for your family at this time. I pray that the Holy Spirit will wrap you all in HIS arms and comfort you !! Derek was truly a man of passion that was felt in what ever He did . He will be MISSED ! Your family is in my prayers. Lv Ya Blessings

  12. Oh, Tracie, Derek’s passing is an unimaginable loss. Your IHOP family and friends will undergird your family, Renee and the children with our prayers, love and support as you walk through this valley.

  13. Praying for you – holding your arms up for you, on bended knee with you.

    Please Jesus give this family rest and peace.

  14. Oh, how his life was not in vein. Derrick touched more people in his days and drew more brothers and sisters to the holy spirit than some could hardly fathom. Oh, what a great man. He will truly be missed by all who walked with him. He has made the world a better place for having left his footprint. May God bless the Loux family, Renee, and all his beautiful children…….

  15. For years, Derek has been a source of inspiration, laughter and teachings that cut to the heart like a surgeon’s scalpel. But all I can think of is the aching loss for the family. ‘I’m so sorry for your loss’ seems so inadequate. We are grieving with you and praying for you. Oh how we need men like Derek Loux, who displayed his passion for God openly, and then lived out what he proclaimed.

  16. Dear Tracie, John, and Family –

    I’m praying and grieving with you. Words seem so empty. Praying that the Lord will wrap you in His loving arms and comfort you as no one else can.

    I considered Derek to be a spiritual father as he was to so many in FMA and beyond. He impacted my life so profoundly – seeing beauty in the midst of ashes, speaking identity, and restoring the hope of my calling. Derek conveyed the Father’s heart for the Spirit of Adoption like no other and his vision for restoring and adopting orphans will impact me forever…His legacy will live on through so many.

    You are SO loved. I pray that in the midst of overwhelming grief, you will experience the love of the Father.

  17. What an amazing life of passion and serving Abba Father Derek led. We love you guys and are praying for Renee, the kids, and the rest of the family. Our hearts ache for you and with you.

  18. I was DEEPLY shocked and grieved when I read about what happened to Derek! Please know that my tears are joining yours – all the way from New Zealand – and our whole family has been touched by this tragedy, but even more, by the amazing life of Derek!
    Your family – and particularly Renee and the children – are constantly in my thoughts and prayers.
    Shalom – and may THE COMFORTER bring PEACE and COMFORT to each of your hearts as you are grieving the incredible loss of such an amazing man of God and family member!
    Love,
    Isabel

  19. Tracie,

    I am just now reading this. I have not been on your blog or spoken to since before this. I am sitting here in complete shock. I don’t know what to say. I am just so sad right now.

    I love you. I am so sorry. So very sorry.

Leave a comment