Capture Your Grief · Child Loss · Grief · Healing · Mattie · poetry · Uncategorized

Unexpected

13161890_10153613409123595_7621709432702019124_o-1I pulled this shirt from my drawer and it smelled of him.

Impossible.

Months later, washed and worn,

And now suddenly, his smell.

I put it on.

I breathed in the scent of him.

So much has changed.

I didn’t expect to feel so weak, so broken,

I didn’t expect to lose so much of myself.

But with the inhale and the exhale,

I became so very aware of what I have gained.

Though my body has weakened with injury,

My shoulders no longer ripple with the signs of strength,

I am stronger than I have ever been.

I didn’t expect that the damage would cause a fierceness to rise,

In the very core of my being.

One that cannot be measured in the flex of a muscle,

But with the flex of the heart.

A heart that ripples with,

Love, compassion, empathy, patience, wisdom and grace.

Leave a Reply

