Capture Your Grief · Child Loss · Grief · Healing · Mattie · poetry

Heart Stitches

loux-family-043

They stitched your broken heart together,

And for a long time, it beat within you,

Pumping life and joy through your veins.

And then when it stopped,

Mine stopped too.

And yet slowly I am learning,

To pick up the  needle and thread,

And stitch by stitch,

Sew my own broken heart back together as well.

 

I would trace my finger down your scar,

A reminder that even broken things can heal.

And now I trace my finger across my own heart,

I feel the scar,

And I remind myself once more,

That broken things can heal.

2 thoughts on “Heart Stitches

  1. I don’t have words for how much I love this. It’s been running through my head all day. Thank you for writing it.

Leave a Reply

