Adoption · Adoption Consultant · Uncategorized

Knit Together By Adoption- Week 4

Knit Together By Adoption, Day 23, “Language”

12241712_10153262044323595_939421195764731398_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Whatchu talkin’ ’bout?

Please be respectful when you talk about adoption. I’m not easily offended, but I will correct you or redirect you if you mess up a few big ones.

1. Which ones are yours? Nope. Just don’t. They are all mine.

2. Why did his mother give him up (put him up) for adoption? Nope. She made an adoption plan for him.

3. Where did you get him? Target. No, try, Where was he born?

4. Is he your real kid? Oh he’s very real. All my kids are real.

5. Is he an adopted kid? Well we adopted him. Adopted is a verb in my world not an adjective. He is simply my kid

 

Knit Together By Adoption, Day 24, “Before and After”

12307374_10153262478873595_8435300219445401083_o

It’s Transformation Tuesday

March 2009- August 2010

We waited over a year to get professional family photos taken with our dear friend @spaulson. We took pictures of course but we wanted our first family photo shoot to reflect healing.

I’ll never forget when this image on the right came across my computer screen. I gasped. I saw what I was hoping I would see. LIFE!! It was happening. Over a year of hard work, down in the dirt love, and LOOK at the light in her eyes.


Friends, adopting a child from hard places is about loving a child back to life. It is far from easy, but it is so worth it.

 

Knit Together By Adoption, Day 24, “Before and After”
12308004_10153262482923595_1807513617439971865_o

It’s Transformation Tuesday

March 2009- August 2010

We waited over a year to get professional family photos taken with our dear friend @spaulson. We took pictures of course but we wanted our first family photo shoot to reflect healing.

I’ll never forget when this image on the right came across my computer screen. I gasped. I saw what I was hoping I would see. LIFE!! It was happening. Over a year of hard work, down in the dirt love, and LOOK at the light in her eyes.

Friends, adopting a child from hard places is about loving a child back to life. It is far from easy, but it is so worth it.

 

Updated photos: 2009- 2010- Present

12299206_10153263003223595_2994074253823672014_n

Knit Together By Adoption, Day 25, “Fearless”

12246825_10153264596758595_7420160259161681753_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is nothing I want more as a parent than for my children to feel confident, secure, loved and safe. Fearless.

This little one spent too many years living in fear. She’s free now.
Fearless.

“And I don’t know how it gets better than this.
You take my hand and drag me head first.
Fearless.
And I don’t know why but with you I’d dance.
In a storm in my best dress,
Fearless.”

-Taylor Swift

 

Knit Together By Adoption, Day 26, “Aging Out”

12291953_10153265894373595_3226637324720758792_o

Aging out is the dreadful phrase that refers to a child aging out of foster care or an orphanage. In many ways, “aging out” is when “orphan” takes on a new meaning. I’ll let you think about that one.

When I first learned that children with special needs in some countries, age out of “Baby Houses” at age 5 and are transferred to adult mental institutions instead of homes for older children, my heart broke into a million pieces.

So when I saw this boys face and knew he was nearing “aging out”, I went all momma bear and brought him home. Because we had room for two, after we got there, we asked who else needed us. And we came home with Emma too.

We cannot turn a blind eye when we have knowledge. We cannot pretend we don’t know.

 

Knit Together By Adoption, Day 27, “How to Get Started in Your Area”

12314641_10153267413328595_1275178806252016974_oThere are so many options when considering adoption and it can be very overwhelming.
I’m grateful that our work at @christianadoptionconsultants is not hindered by geography. We work with families all over the country to help coach them through the adoption process.

We will help you find a reputable agency in your local area, and guide you though all of the steps that follow. We create beautiful family profiles. We work with a multi-agency approach. But most importantly we support you, pray for you, and cheer you on, as you make one of the biggest decisions you will ever make!!

Email me at tracie@christianadoptionconsultants.com for an information pack and to set up a time to talk and see if this is the right approach for you.

Knit Together By Adoption, Day 28, “The Day It Was Too Much”

12313546_10153269099783595_4458338407990411371_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It wasn’t this day in July of 2009. It was just a month or so before this photo was taken.
It wasn’t because SHE was too much. Sure we have had some harder than hard days, but this wasn’t because of her.

The day it was too much was the day my fears and suspicions were confirmed. Not in words, because she was still locked up and not speaking, but In actions that told a tale that tore my heart in two. She told me that things were done that no two year old should know. Unspeakable things. I hugged her. And then I ran to my room and sobbed.

 

Knit Together By Adoption, Day 29, “When it was all worth it.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are many photos that cry out to my heart, IT WAS ALL WORTH IT!
A photo of Aiden snuggled under my chin with his thumb in his mouth, a photo of Elia dressed as a fairy, a photo of Emma running into my arms at the playground, a photo of me placing Mattie in his crib at home after spending the first 11 months of his life in the hospital. Hundreds of images cause my heart to whisper, “It was all worth it.”

But I chose this one. A boy in a swing with delight on his face. Every day of his life was worth it. Every moment of pain. Every sleepless night. Every terrifying moment. It was all worth it.

There are no regrets when you have loved with all your heart and soul. There are no regrets when your life has been touched by a true love miracle.

It was worth it. It’s is still worth it. Even as I carry this pain, it is worth it because of love.

 

Knit Together By Adoption, Day 30, “Lyrics that move you.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Go back to sleep now

My darlin
And I’ll keep all the bad dreams away
Breathe now, think sweet things
And I’ll think of all the right words to say
Because we made you
My darlin
With the love in each of our hearts
We were a family, my darlin
Right from the start
Grow up now
My darlin
Please don’t you grow up too fast
And be sure, darlin
To make all the good times last
Because we made you
My darlin
With the love in each of our hearts
We were a family, my darlin
Right from the start”

Jeff Tweedy, Wilco

Good lyrics need no commentary.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Knit Together By Adoption- Week 4

  1. Did she make them an adoption plan? Or did she make them a love plan? Because to me, that mother planned love for her child, plain and simple. Mothers who love, do what love sends them to do.
    Your comment about ‘which ones are yours?’ they are all yours. I hate when people call some of my children ‘step’ children. Unless you call them my ‘stepped into my heart children’, then just call them my children.
    Thank you for what you do for all of us, each day. I have never adopted but I do love that so many do. Children are a gift and I thank you for gifting your children to all of us that we can love them from afar!

Leave a Reply

