Uncategorized

Under the Sweet Gum Tree

image

I lie here under the sweet gum tree,

My back against the earth.

Deep brown covered with a blanket of green.

Rock and dirt and the prickly seed of the tree pressing against my flesh.

Below me lies an empty house,

That held a light-filled child.

Rising high above me beyond the shadow of this tree,

A crystal clear sheet of blue,

Reminding me of eternity,

And the never ending spirit,

Of a boy,

Who lived in a house,

That now lies beneath me.

So I breathe in the brown, the green, the blue.

The earth, the stone, the rocks that pierce my flesh.

I breathe in,

Life,

And a spirit that lives on.

Because once a boy lived in a house,

In my ams.

And now that boy lives in a heart,

Inside my house.

So under the sweet gum tree,

My back against the earth,

I breathe.

 

 

 

One thought on “Under the Sweet Gum Tree

Leave a Reply

