Father's Day · Letter to My Son · Parenting · Uncategorized

A Letter To My Son on Father’s Day

Two years ago I wrote a letter to my son, the week before he was to get married, that began,

25943_547552838590218_340065051_n

Son,

The day I held you in my arms for the first time, you changed my world forever. You taught me how to be a mother. You taught me how to love more deeply that I ever could have imagined….

*you can read the full letter here: A Letter to My Son

Today I start another letter in much the same way,

1779352_10102453562482989_6541955869295050944_n

 

Son,

The day I held you in my arms for the first time, you changed my world forever. You taught me how to be a mother. You taught me how to love more deeply that I ever could have ever imagined.

I’ve watched you become a man. The kind of man who is strong yet vulnerable, wise yet humble. A man who is creative, brave, and kind. A man who is talented and gifted, yet always strives to learn more. A man who has become a husband, embracing that roll with all that you are, your strength and your weakness. You’ve laid your imperfections on the table and with it shown the true nature of strength of a man.

I’m proud of the man and husband you have become and are becoming.

Yet the other day, you shook my world again. The other day, I watched you in a moment become a father.

I saw that look in your eyes as you gazed on the beauty and miracle of your newborn daughter.

I heard the change in the timber of your voice as you spoke to her.

I saw your eyes deepen and become softer that I ever thought possible.

In a moment you stepped into a role that will change the life of one little girl forever.

You will be the one to help shape her image of how the world perceives her.

You will be the one that will instill in her a sense of beauty, a sense of belonging, a sense of worth like no one else can do.

And I’m watching you do it already.

Oh son, that my heart could be any fuller of love for you, I could not have imagined.

But the other day when I saw your hands wrap around a tiny life that you have called “daughter”, my heart exploded into a gazillion tiny new pieces of love.

The day I held you in my arms for the first time, you changed my world forever. You taught me how to be a mother.

The day you held your daughter in your arms for the first time, you changed my world forever. You gave me the name “Noni” and I don’t need any lessons, I know exactly what to do.

You have taught me how to love more deeply than I ever could have imagined.

And you keep teaching me, every day of my life.

 

Love,

Momma

One thought on “A Letter To My Son on Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

