Uncategorized

Thank You for Being…..

image

As a mother who is facing her first Mother’s Day without one of my children, I want to help you love well.

There are many things you could do. Many things that might be meaningful. But I’m going to make it super simple.

Mothers  who have lost are hurting this weekend. You can choose to ignore because it’s awkward and uncomfortable, or you can choose to be love.

A broken heart wants three things:

1. To know you haven’t forgotten.
2. To hear their child’s name.
3. To know that their love mattered.

So let me make it simple.
1. Write down the names of women you know who have: lost a child, lost a mother, or who are longing for a child and still waiting.

2. Find a small token, a gift, if possible. I don’t care what it is: a single rose, a card with a $5.00 coffee gift card, something simple. (If you live nearby)

3. Write these words on a card or note paper, and if you can say them outloud. (Make a phone call or send a text if you’re far away):

Here are some samples:

– Thank you for being Mattie’s mom. Your love is big and watching you love Mattie changed my life. I wish he could be in your arms today.

– Thank you for being a beautiful daughter to Sue. I know today is not the same without your mother. Her love is reflected in you.

– I know today is filled with sorrow for you as you long to be a mother. I want you to know that I’m so sorry your wait has been so long. You are beautiful and I love you.

Find words from your heart. But say them, write them, or text them. You can do it.

Be love!

3 thoughts on “Thank You for Being…..

  1. I stumbled across your blog as I was preparing to teach a Sunday School lesson. I was searching for the phrase – “Peace that passes understanding”.

    It led me to one of your blog entries for Mattie, when he was having what I believe was his first surgery. When I read that, I had to keep following the trail to see how it turned out. You know where the trail led…

    After crying with you, and your husband, and your family, I am now trying to decide what to say to my class tomorrow. I put a picture of you and Mattie on one slide in my deck. Not sure what I am going to say, not sure if I can say anything without crying.

    Thank you for opening up your heart, and that of your family, to the world. You have encouraged me to not take for granted the smallest joys that I have with my children and our first grandchild. May God continue to bless your family!

  2. Joe, thank you so much for sharing. I’m moved that you even took the time to get to know us and our journey. He was a miracle, a gift every day of his life.

Leave a Reply

