Uncategorized

Celebrating the Life of Matthias Samuel Loux

DSC_0376

At 9:30PM on August 21st, a brave little warrior from this earth was welcomed as a strong and valiant champion into the arms of Jesus.

Our son is gone from our arms, but his life has imprinted each of our hearts with more love than can ever be spoken.

Our family grieves with deep, deep grief. A loss like this is more than our hearts can bear but we lean on the One who created us all.

It was like we were a wheel. Christ as the hub, we the spokes, but Mattie the felloes that held us together, shaped us, set us on course.

He moved us. His life centered us and connected us as a family more deeply than words can express.

 

On August 21st our lives changed forever….

Mattie has been doing so well as you know. We had a marvelous family vacation, he has been vent free since February. The hovering storm these past few months has been ASTHMA. And asthma can be a killer.

We were treating Mattie for a seasonal asthma flair up much like we have before with increased breathing treatments and a course of steroids. But asthma has a mind of its own.

And a sudden very severe flare up sent a moments before playing on the floor, happy boy into a sudden asthma attack.

I had to immediately begin bagging him (assisted breathing) and we administered emergency inhalers all while calling 911 and Mattie’s doctor. EMS helped take over rescue breathing and administered additional inhalers.

Within 9 minutes we had him on the ambulance. About 5 minutes later he coded. I had to help with CPR. I bagged him while one EMT did chest compressions, and the other administered epinephrin.

We arrived at the ER where the did 3 more rounds of epinephrin along with CPR.

They were not able to restore a heart beat.

 

Service Information:

CELEBRATING THE LIFE OF MATTHIAS SAMUEL LOUX

Vineyard Church of Overland Park 8301 Lamar Overland Park, KS 66207

Wednesday, August 27th

Viewing 11:00am-12:45pm

Celebration Service at 1:00PM.

 

For practical ways to help, please visit:

LIKE our memorial page on Facebook for updates and details: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Remembering-Mattie-Help-for-the-Loux-Family/628125823968903

Go Fund Me for Memorial Fund: http://www.gofundme.com/ddif3k

Meal Train and Food Gift Cards: https://www.mealtrain.com/view/?id=mE%2BTeg56Yf8%3D

You may also use the donate button on this blog to access Paypal.

If you would like to give a tax deductible gift please mail checks written out to TEKOA 211 to 12312 Askew Street Grandview MO 64030

13 thoughts on “Celebrating the Life of Matthias Samuel Loux

  1. We love you Tracie and all the Loux Family members. Your grief is ours. Mattie and the way you loved him will be with us forever. Memory Eternal Matthias Samuel Loux.

  2. Mattie touched my life in so many ways. Those ways and his memory will be treasured in my heart forever. I often dreamed of the day I would meet and hold this little man and even though it was not to be here on this earth, I WILL meet and hold him someday.

  3. Reblogged this on Brownswissmomma's Blog and commented:
    So many of us in the adoption world, especially the Down syndrome adoption world have been touched by the life and light that was Matthias Samuel Loux. I hope all of you take a moment and say a prayer for the Loux family and count every Breath, and remember the lesson of Mattie, “Don’t forget to breathe.” His life on earth was but a vapor, but his fragrance will remain for a very long time.

  4. So sorry to hear, I have been following all your family posts. God Bless everyone. In my prayers..Tim

  5. May God wrap you up tightly in his BIG ARMS of love!!! My heart goes out to you in your grief! My God wipe the tears from your eyes and somehow give you the courage to carry on. Dear Lord Jesus bring new joys to this famiies aching hearts!!

  6. I had stepped back from social media and came back this morning. I am crying. I am so sorry, not that Mattie is with Jesus, but for the pain and empty arms. I’m sorry I didn’t know so at least I would be praying. I’m just so sorry.

    Though a different situation, I know….when Jonathan went to be with Jesus I ran into a friend from Church. It was someone who had lost their daughter. He said to me, “There is nothing I can say, no platitudes to take away your pain. I’m so sorry.” That’s what I’m sharing with you. I am so sorry. Jesus has some lovely little warriors up there who changed this world…and our hearts.

    Thankful Jesus is our true goal. Tears and prayers…any and all you need…..

  7. Tracie, I want you to know what a blessing it is to see your village come together and help you in so many ways during this time. I cannot imagine losing a child unexpectedly and then having to go into debt to finance a funeral while your heart is aching just to hold him, while you try to comfort your other children who ask you when is their brother coming home? Other cultures provide for their communities during a death and it is such a blessing to see your village coming to your aid in your time of need. THIS is the perfect example of community. And it’s exciting it is happening on USA soil. It gives me hope for our “me first” society that does not value a death of a loved one, especially a child.

    I am appalled by the posts you have had to delete and I think in respect of honoring Mattie, you made the right decisions. This is YOUR community of support here.

    However, If “you” are here reading this as a guest and decide to hide behind a screen and blast a family who has poured out their lives for others who have made selfless choices in their lives with no other intent that love, you do not understand. You do not understand what this family has unselfishly sacrificed for this precious gift that left us all too soon. You do not understand how many lives Mattie changed. You do not understand how many families and children are richer in their hearts because of the Loux family and how they shared our love.

    In a community, joys are to be shared as well as sorrows. In a community, needs are shared as well as blessings.

    This family is in need.

    If you knew them, you would know this.

    if you have not adopted a special needs child, sacrificed your life for a child, given up your dreams because of your love for the child, and cannot speak words of love, then this is not where you should post.

    The bitterness in “your” heart is poison. And the only one it is killing is “you.”

  8. Oh, no, no, no, no, no. I’m so, so sorry. I’ve never met you, but I feel I know your sweet family from your blog. I cannot express how very sorry I am to hear this about Mattie. I am praying for you now as I know you are in the celebration service. Hugs, hugs, hugs.

  9. Praying for peace beyond our own understanding, Praying for the love of God to continue to heal, and protect you all. Until you see your son in heaven be ” Blessed ” in Jesus name….

Leave a Reply

