Uncategorized

It’s Not Just About Miley….

Why are we so shocked by the sin we see in the world?

I am grieved by what I see in the headlines of the news, on the screen of my TV as I click through channels, on the newsstand at the checkout.

I mourn the effects of sin on our planet.

But I don’t scowl and scoff at it. I don’t raise my nose or shake my fist.

I don’t lash out with name-calling.

I weep.

I weep for people who need redemption. Broken ones who need a Savior.

I pray.

For the sinner. The perpetrators. The victims. The self-inflictors.

Wounded. Wounded. Broken souls.

And I love.

I was saved by love. So I love.

I thank God that He didn’t require that I come to Him with my act together in order to become His daughter, in order for me to receive His love.

So why on earth then do we as believers in Christ, hold some unrealistic expectation over those who don’t KNOW His love to LIVE like they DO?

He said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” Mark 2:17″

How did He respond to sinners?

To the woman who “lived a sinful life” –  He didn’t call her a hooker, a slut, or a scank. He didn’t rant on about why her lifestyle was evil and a poor example to other young women.

He didn’t need to tell her that. She knew. She carried the shame.

This is how it went down,

“When one of the Pharisees invited Jesus to have dinner with him, He went to the Pharisee’s house and reclined at the table. A woman in that town who lived a sinful life learned that Jesus was eating at the Pharisee’s house, so she came there with an alabaster jar of perfume.  As she stood behind Him at his feet weeping, she began to wet His feet with her tears. Then she wiped them with her hair, kissed them and poured perfume on them.

When the Pharisee who had invited Him saw this, he said to himself, “If this man were a prophet, he would know who is touching him and what kind of woman she is—that she is a sinner.” Luke 7:36-39

His response? He received her love, forgave her sins, and called her his daughter. “Your faith has saved you. Go in peace.” Luke 7:50

And to the tax collector.

 “All the people saw this and began to mutter, “He has gone to be the guest of a sinner.” Luke 19:7

He didn’t ask for his book-keeping records or call him a thief and a liar. He asked if he could join him in his home for a meal and said to him, “Today salvation has come to this house, because this man, too, is a son of Abraham.  For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.” Luke 19:9

To the adulterous woman, who even saw her self as unworthy of this Man, when she said,

 “You are a Jew and I am a Samaritan woman. How can you ask me for a drink?” (For Jews do not associate with Samaritans.) John 4:9

Jesus responded, “If you knew the gift of God and who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked him and he would have given you living water.” John 4:10

With kindness He acknowledged her sin and poured out His love.

He didn’t expect those who were separated from His love to walk in holiness. He drew them in with loving kindness.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.” Jeremiah 31:3

What HE does expect is that those who KNOW His  love, who have been given the gift of grace and mercy and forgiveness, WALK IN THAT LOVE and follow His example.

Read the New Testament. He loved well. He redeemed.

No one that I know was ever rescued from a life of sin and pain through name calling, judgmental rants, or verbal onslaughts of any kind.

Everyone I know who has walked into a relationship with Jesus Christ, did so because of love and grace extended.

They came to Jesus because someone reflected His love to them.

Someone offered Living Water. Someone Loved them.

Jesus only RANTED when He saw those who KNEW the truth, religious leaders and Bible teachers, living a sin-filled life. If you want to know how Jesus feels when people who claim to know His Father, don’t reflect His love, just read Matthew 23. He has some choice words. Snakes! Brood of Vipers! Hypocrites!

I want to live my life being know for loving well.

I want to love the way my Father loves.

Don’t you?

If you’re reading this and you haven’t experienced the Love of Jesus, please read this POST. 

If you already know the miracle of His love, join with me and let’s all do a better job of reflecting that Love to the world.

It means not being afraid of a little dirt, people.

It means being ok with embracing someone whose life is really messed up.

It means using our words to heal, not condemn.

It means keep your eyes up and open, and your heart ready to speak love.

Offer hope.

It means remembering how much Love has been extended to you.

“And a servant who knows what the master wants, but isn’t prepared and doesn’t carry out those instructions, will be severely punished. But someone who does not know, and then does something wrong, will be punished only lightly. When someone has been given much, much will be required in return; and when someone has been entrusted with much, even more will be required.” Luke 12:47

I’ve been given so much. Loved so well by the One who created my very being.

I want to love well.

Join me.

One thought on “It’s Not Just About Miley….

  1. Tracie you are so correct. We have a tendency to criticize before we stop to think about where we came from and what our Savior has saved us from. I always think about the woman who they wanted to stone and how everyone turned away when Jesus said, He who is without sin cast the first stone. Could any of us cast that stone? I think not……..God forgive us for thinking we are better than anyone else. What the world needs more of is love and forgiveness.

Leave a Reply

