Uncategorized

Holding Him in His Blankie

Mattie had a stable night and the swelling in his face is slowly going down, his abdomen is still very puffy, but he is negative in his fluid balance (meaning he is peeing more off than he is taking in, which in this case is what we want). They will take out his catheter today and see if he does ok peeing on his own, they are turning off the epinephrine….and we will be trying him off of the oscillator and back on the hospital vent(Servo) today. Please pray this all goes smoothly and that he tolerates the changes.

20130614-103410.jpg

The nurse yesterday made him a bow tie.

For years I have declared over Mattie, “He who promised is faithful.”

This morning I woke to an encouraging message in my inbox from a praying friend.

She said,

This morning in my quiet time I was reminded of this verse
Matthew 18:10 “Take heed that you do not despise one of these little ones, for I say to you that in heaven their angels always see the face of My Father who is in heaven.”

Encouraging to realize Mattie’s angel(s) are beholding the face of God when they receive their command/instruction regarding precious Mattie.

I felt I was to give you the following verses this morning. We’re continuing to pray for you & your precious family. To hold your arms up when you are tired…

The Lord bless you & keep you.

Hebrews 10:23 Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful.

Psalm 138:8 The Lord will perfect that which concerns me;Your mercy, O Lord, endures forever;Do not forsake the works of Your hands.

Last, one of the first things I sensed & saw this morning was a great cloud over Mattie with many gentle whispers coming from it & saying without pause, “rise up Mattie, rise up…”

Last night was extra hard. I sat here wishing with all my heart that I could just hold him. It has been a week of not holding him in my arms. It hurts.

Another friend messaged me this:

Hi Tracie. We continue to pray for Mattie and your family. My 6 yr old daughter came up to me as I was checking in on the status of Mattie. She could tell that I was very sad. She asked how Mattie was doing. She also asked me if we could pray together for Mattie and your family. She told me “Momma, they must be very sad because he is so sick, but we know that God is with Mattie holding him in his blankie”… Hugs and love to your family and Mattie.

There are so many times, when your words of encouragement, texts, and comments have been exactly what I needed to hear. I am so grateful that you are praying, lifting our arms, and believing with us.

Sometimes I just need to be reminded that his Father is holding him in his blankie.

2 thoughts on “Holding Him in His Blankie

  1. I pray for gentle peace for Mattie and for his family. Let God do his work and let those who love Mattie accept God’s work as gracefully as possible and gain understanding of his love for his children !

Leave a Reply

