Uncategorized

Sitting on a Stone

“The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But i have promises to keep
And miles to go before I sleep.
And miles to go before I sleep.”

I’m sure Robert Frost’s journey was nothing like mine, but I understand that longing for a journey to end. I’m ready, but it appears we are not out of the woods yet. So we keep walking.

Weary Sojourners.

Mattie looks better and is acting better, but he’s a bit worn out.
His body has fought hard.

His white blood cell count is almost zero, and he is running a fever. It is possible that he is still fighting something, and it is possible that the antibiotics may have depleted his white count. Either way he is highly susceptible to infection at the moment, so we are treating him to protect him as much as possible.

I wish we were out of the woods. But we aren’t.

I am weary, yet so grateful for the One who lives in me, the one who fashioned my son, and has His hand upon him.

I am grateful for the Spirit of God who lives and breathes inside of me.

“The Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.” Romans 8:26

I’m grateful that the very Son of God has made a dwelling place inside my heart, and intercedes for us at the right hand of God.

“For Christ did not enter into a holy place made with human hands, which was only a copy of the true one in heaven. He entered into heaven itself to appear now before God on our behalf.” Hebrews 9:34

And I am grateful for the family of God who surrounds us and lifts us up when we are weak. I’m no Moses, but I understand and value of being surrounded by a family full of faith and love.

“When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up—one on one side, one on the other—so that his hands remained steady till sunset.” Exodus 17:12

I am taking a moment to sit on a stone. Would you pray?

10 thoughts on “Sitting on a Stone

  1. Whether sick or healthy, there is a prayer every night before I sleep for you and your courageous family. Matties beautiful face is a great way to end the day and usually I add Big extra prayers for Nic, Amy, Taylor and Isabelle because as young adults, they understand the gravity of it all. They must be strong for the littles and that takes extra strength. Know that we pray for Matties medical staff to stay diligent and that they battle as hard as Mattie~ and solve this once and for all.

  2. Definitely! Abba, I ask you to uphold Tracie, John, and all of the family as we cry out for the life and health of Mattie. Please sustain, refresh, and restore them all with whisper of Your voice and the Shalom (rest & peace) of God in this trying time. In Jesus’ Name, Amen! 🙂

  3. PRAYING this very moment!!! Holding your hand, while you sit on the stone!!!
    MUCH LOVE

  4. We are praying and trusting the ONE who makes all the wrong things right, that He would flood Mattie with His healing power and he would hold him close in a blanket of his most precious love! Love you all and so proud of how you’re carrying your hearts! XO

Leave a Reply

