Uncategorized

We All Need a Savior

IMG_8375

My sweet Elia has struggled with fear and worry (especially at night) for a while now. As we lay in my bed the other night, she asked me, “Momma, why are you and daddy not afraid to go to sleep?” My answer was this, “Elia, when I was a little girl, about your age. I went through a time where I was very afraid, and I learned that Jesus wanted to be my friend. I asked Him to come and live in my heart so that He would always be near. Because He lives in my heart, I can ask Him to take fear and pain and sadness out of my heart any time that they try to sneak in.”

Thoughtfully, she replied, “I want Him to live in my heart too.”

I prayed with her. She invited Him in.

We talked more about how when Jesus is near us, living in us, guiding us and teaching us, He can help us in the daytime too. He can help us when we feel angry or want to disobey. We can ask Him to forgive us and clean up our heart every time we say mean words, disobey, or are unkind to others.

She is learning and growing in Jesus. Learning to talk to Him, Learning to listen to Him.

We all need a Savior. We are all lost without Him.

On my own, I am not good. My heart gets ugly when I follow my own desires and let my selfishness run wild.

I need a Savior.

My 5 year old needs a Savior.

A Baby was born. He grew and lived among us. He, who was in His very nature GOD, “became flesh and dwelt among us” (John 1:14). He was acquainted with our sorrows, He was familiar with our suffering. (Isaiah 53:3) He came that we could have LIFE and have it abundantly. (John 10:10) He gave His very life, He paid the ransom so that we could be set free. He chose to make us His friends. (John 15:15)

Jesus Loves Elia.

And He loves you too.

IMG_8361

4 thoughts on “We All Need a Savior

  1. There is no greater joy than having the privilege to lead our little ones to Jesus. Praising Him with you!!
    Sweet Elia – “being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.” Phil. 1:6
    Love, the Shays!

  2. PRAISE GOD!!!!!! WAHHOOOOO!!!!! Doing a welcome to God’s Family Praise Dance of Joy :)!!!!!!

    Amen- Elia- we all need HIM and we all can have HIM with us all the time whenever we fear and whatever we go through.

  3. When Debra and David were little and were adjusting to life in the states when they had bad dreams we always prayed together. I taught them to say out loud “in the name of Jesus bad thoughts go away” as many times as they need to until they fell back asleep. One mornig Debra said ” Mom it really works!”

Leave a Reply

