Adoption · Uncategorized

Adoption Stories: Week 1

My Facebook Project for National Adoption Awareness Month has been to share stories and testimonies from teen and adult adoptees. My hope is that through these stories, your heart will be encouraged as you witness the restorative power of God to bring hope and healing to broken lives and that you will be challenged to ask yourself how you can be a part of miracles like these. I will compile a week’s worth of stories here on the blog at the end of each week! 

This is 19 year old Simeon, son of John Wallisand Sydney Lahti Wallis. He was born in Ethiopia and was adopted in 2005 along with his biological sister.

May your heart be impacted as you read Simeon’s words: “It is strange, asking my self what my life would be like, if I had not been adopted. Well, no doubt, considering the situation I was in right before I was adopted, it wasn’t one of hopeful expectations and the thought of which I do not very much like to dwell on. Even then i dont know what it would have been like, what I know for certain is that I would not have had the past 7 years of my life that God has blessed me with, since I have been adopted.

I was eleven when I wad adopted from Ethiopia. Four years before that my mother had passed away, and my father, I have never heard from since their separation, when I was very little. Those four years I lived back and forth between a kids group home and my aunts house, until the group home fell apart and I settled living with my aunt.

A year before I was adopted , I had been very hopeful of being adopted by an American family. I was very excited when I saw the picture of the family, But it all stopped as fast as it had began. A year had passed and the hope seemed very distant. By that time I was eleven and I was having a hard time getting along at home. My aunt often threatened to send me to my uncle who was a farmer once the school year was over. And I in turn thought about running away figuring I could make something of myself. On top of it she fell ill. I was on one of my usual visits with a meal to my aunt at the hospital, when I was told that someone had come to take me to be adopted. From there it all happened so fast. The day before I flew to meet my family I received picture of them. They had thirteen kids that I kept on counting.

I was very happy to be here. I have my parents and a lot of siblings from whom i picked English up Quickly. So the last seven years have been great for me, and full of learning and growing with my family. If I had not been adopted I would not have experienced the joy filled life that I have had this past seven years.” – Simeon Wallis

THE WALLIS FAMILY is currently in the process of fundraising to bring two children home from China. THey have already been approved and should begin the travel process in early January if they are able to raise the $25,000 needed for this adoption. Please feel free to follow their journey on Facebook. And visit their fundraising auction at Adoption Auction – Help the Wallis family

This family is very dear to me. I have worked with Jason and Dawn Wright on two of their domestic adoptions, and I was so blessed when three of their older children were willing to share in this project:

Andrew Wright- 10. What I like about adoption is when a family comes and says I love you the way you are. When a family comes and says we want you forever and ever. We will always love you and I’m there when you are sad and I’m there when you are happy and I’m there when you need to talk to somebody. I will be with you always forever and ever.

Abigail Wright- 12. Well you know that a family of our size it can get crazy. It does bug me when people start counting us…..1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9. I am not that offended. Our day to day life is really like most other families. It does not feel any different to me. I love the fact that I have a family that loves me. They teach us about the Bible and God!

Joshua Wright- 10. What I love about adoption is that you get to have new brothers and sisters! You get to learn about Jesus and the Bible. You learn how God sent His son to die for us! Your family loves you. Family Forever- brothers and sisters Always!


Charlotte Meythaler: “My life was not good when I was living with my biological mom. She was very mean and didn’t protect my brother and me. She was angry all the time and would punch people and leave us home alone a lot and I was always scared. I prayed and asked God if he would give me different parents and He told me He would.

When I came in to foster care I went to the Northwest Arkansas Children’s Shelter. One day the staff told me that someone wanted to meet me. I went to go meet the parents and their names are Ann and Kerry Meythaler. I went to have dinner at their home and played barbies with their two daughters Emily and Kylie. Then Ann and Kerry asked me if I wanted to live with them and I said YES! Sometimes I made bad choices but I tried to make good choices. Sometimes I made Ann cry and I thought she didn’t love me anymore. She did though. One day I asked Ann and Kerry if they would adopt me so I could be a Meythaler too. I liked their home and my new sisters and brothers and wanted to live with them forever.

Then God answered my prayer. I was adopted on June 21, 2011 and got a new name. I was really excited to be adopted. My mommy and daddy will love me forever and keep me safe and make me be accountable for my actions. I used to wonder what my life would be like after I got adopted. My life is really good now that I have a family who loves me and cares about me and that protects me from danger. Now I make really good choices. I love my sisters and my brothers. I love my mommy and daddy. My life is happy now.

Jesus thank you for giving me a great family and friends. I love you Jesus.” – Charlotte

Charlotte came in to foster care just before her 16th birthday and was adopted into the Meythaler home almost 2 years later.

Sydney: “My mom adopted my brother, sister and me when we were young. At first she was our foster parent. I don’t really remember my birthmother loving me but I do remember my foster mom loving me. When I was adopted, it was the best day of my life. I remember going through the Judge’s door thinking it was a dream but here I am now eight years later.

My birthmother was abusive. She would let the men she dated break my brother’s arm and beat us. My brother was only two months old. One time she hid my brother in a barn when he was just a baby. The police found him and took him to the hospital. My siblings and I have the same birthmother but different sperm doners (that’s what I call whichever man got my birthmom pregnant with me since there were so many men). That’s why my brother is half Mexican and we don’t know what I am. My sister is Caucasian. Sometimes it bugs me that I don’t know my heritage. I really wish I knew who was my birthdad because I want to know what country I came from long ago. My mom (and I mean my adoptive mom but I don’t like calling her that because she’s my real mom) and I wonder if I am Romani gypsy because I love the arts so much. So, we imagine that.

My sister has some life problems. My sister loves to knit and write and she loves helping little kids and the elderly. My sister has problem with stealing and lying. Somedays it makes life hard and sometimes I wish she didn’t live with me because it makes me so stressed out. My mom said it’s because of all the things that happened to her before she was placed with me in foster care. I think about that. Even though my sister is only one year older than me, she took good care of my brother and me when we lived with our birth mother. If things had been different, it could have been me that had an attachment disorder. I love her anyway and I hope she makes the right choices so she can enjoy life as much as me.

And I have Lupus and Arthritis. My brother and sister and I all have a lot of medical problems. We don’t know why we have so many medical problems but I think birthmoms shouldn’t ever do drugs or do meth. But with changes in my eating and good doctors, I can still do what I love. And I love to dance, sing and act and teach little ballerinas.

My brother loves sports. He has played soccer, baseball, basketball, football and swimming. He also loves to act and sing. He’s a good brother.

My mom does grant writing and research for a living. She gave up being a social worker so she could stay home with us and homeschool us. She is an Awesome Mom. And I love her so much. If I was not adopted, I would have either been dead and if I was alive, I would have way more problems than I have now and would probably be at a homeless shelter which is why I’m so glad to be alive and adopted.” -Sydney, age 12 1/2

Kym Thurman is an adoptee and now an adoptive momma and she has graciously and beautifully shared her story with us:

“I have this box.
It holds parts of my past. Parts of my present. Parts of my future.
And I don’t take it out very often, but it is always a part of me.
It influences the decisions I make.
It determines some of the choices I hold most dear.
It reflects a large part of my personality.
It holds some of my deepest, most primal emotions.
I have an adoption box.
Two, actually, an inner box and a physical box….”

Too read the rest of Kym’s full testimony please click on this link: http://thespiritofadoption.wordpress.com/2012/11/02/national-adoption-awareness-month-guest-post-2/

Bethany Anderson is the daughter of Dale and Cheryl Anderson. She was adopted from an orphanage in Eastern Europe as a baby.

“Adoption is the greatest gift that I have ever received. The beauty of adoption is that it gives back to the child what had been stolen from them, the feeling of being wanted and loved. I was one month old and already unwanted and abandoned, but God plucked me from the lowest of places and gave me a home. He gave me a chance to be loved, to be heard and to be wanted. My parents handpicked me, and chose me to be a part of their family. It had not been because of anything that I had done, but because the Lord gave them the desire to adopt, and knit their hearts together with mine.

When I was about eight years old I was overcome by fear. If I was at school or at a friend’s house I would felt completely safe, but the moment I set foot at my own house, fear swept over my like like a title wave. I would be afraid to lay alone my back yard, and I had a hard time sleeping because I thought I would be kid napped. My main concern was that a man would come through my window and take me. My family loved me incredibly well, and there was no reason for my home to not feel safe, yet I was completely paralyzed by fear. One night before bed my mom asked me what would happen to me if I were to be taken, and I said that I would disappear as though I had never existed. My mom immediately knew that this fear was connected with when I was still in the womb. My birth mom had been raped when she was sixteen and was pressured to abort me. She had gone to terminate her pregnancy three different times, but each time she refused to go through with it. The womb was my first home and was supposed to be a safe place, but instead my life was threatened. Abortion is when someone takes a baby’s life, and it is like that child never existed. My parents prayed against the power of fear and rejection and it no longer had the ability to control me. The power of the blood of Jesus and acceptance is greater than any fear. I have not struggled with fear since that day.

Adoption has forever changed my life. I am now twenty one years old, and the reality of being adopted still causes my heart to rejoice and thank God for the gift that He bestowed upon me. My parents opened their home and their hearts to an orphan, someone who was not their own, and gave me more love than I could have ever imagined, and have made me their own.” -Bethany

Sam Kasper: “There is nothing quite like realizing the marvelous story that God is writing for you. Too many times have I tried to look into the future to seek out the answer to everyone’s big question: ‘Who will I be?’ When the Lord is actually calling me to find the answer where my story really began–my adoption.

Eighteen years ago, I was born to my biological parents in Naning, China. When it comes to children, China is very specific. The one-child-law confined Chinese parents to only one son and one daughter. They are also very superstitious toward children born with birth defects. I was a second son born with a birth defect. My testimony starts here. I could have been aborted, but I was birthed. I could have been refused nourishment, but I was nursed for the first year of my life. I could have been abandoned in a dumpster–or worse–murdered, but my parents left me next to a police station where they hoped I would be shown compassion from…someone. I could have been left there to die, but I was found and placed in the care of an orphanage and, shortly after, I was adopted by two, loving, American, God-fearing parents. I am so thankful for my Father in Heaven who fashioned me before I was born and spoke my destiny over me.

Being adopted awesome! The Lord has never let up on speaking into me, saying, ‘You have been adopted and so I call you to be an intercessor and musician declaring My heart for the orphans!’ And today, by the grace of God, let me not forget that this little light of mine could have been snuffed out, but now it will shine for the orphans that will find their Father in Heaven through my prayers and through my worship.”

2 thoughts on “Adoption Stories: Week 1

Leave a Reply

