Uncategorized

Rain in the Desert

 

 

 

“How priceless is Your unfailing love. Both high and low among men find refuge in the shadow of Your wings. They feast on the abundance of Your house, You give them drink from Your river of delights. For with You is the fountain of life; in Your light we see light.” – Psalm 36:7-9

 

My sweet husband sent me away. To the desert.

So I went, I got on a plane, put my fear of leaving home somewhere deep in my pocket, and I left.

I received an invitation to go to Phoenix and rest. I knew I would see some precious people that I love dearly. I knew that I would sleep (and even take naps) without being woken by the demands of little ones for a few days.  I hoped and prayed that Jesus would find me there and strengthen my spirit.

He did.

In the desert, He found me.

When I was completely worn out, run down, hardly able to mutter the simplest prayer, “Help me.”

He came.

And He sent a still, quiet rain.

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:19

It really rained.

On my last morning in Phoenix, I was sitting alone having a cup of coffee, my heart set on hearing from Him; and it rained.

It rained in the desert.

It rained on my dry heart.

As I watched the rain hit the dry earth, my heart leapt inside of me. I knew He was speaking.

He came and He began to flood my heart with His loving kindness. He didn’t make me work hard or dig deep. He came quickly and loved deeply because He knew that I was tired and weary. He came because He loves me.

And He loves you.

In your weakness, your brokenness, your place of feeling empty and dry. He loves you.

“Then I will send rain on your land in its season, both autumn and spring rains, so that you may gather in your grain, new wine and oil.” Deu. 11:14

 

2 thoughts on “Rain in the Desert

  1. I am thrilled that you had a restful and recharging time. Desert rain is one of my favorite things, if you are not in the middle of Phoenix, but closer to the desert, there is this smell when its over, maybe you got to smell it. I forget if its a spore awakened by the water, water meeting Creosote bushes, but it is my favorite smell in the world. It smells like God cleaned the world, and everytime I smell it, it reminds me that no matter how big the mess, God can clean it up. That no matter how hopeless it seems, God can rejuvenate it. Rain becomes so precious when you don’t see it for months at a time. I remember one winter when it literally didn’t rain from October to March. I remember because we got rained out of our first camping trip of the season and we didn’t care because IT WAS RAINING! Stay strong!

Leave a Reply

