Uncategorized

Laugh, I Dare You!

Life is hard, so I have chosen to laugh my way through it. I’ve found that the “joy-of-the-Lord-is-my-strength” thing works pretty good.  I’m not underestimating the serious hit-you-in-the-gut, knock-the-life-right-out-of-you moments of life. I’ve had my share of those. They aren’t funny at all. Not one bit. I didn’t laugh at those. Trust me, I didn’t laugh.

I’m talking about the “my kids wrote on the walls that I just painted, I just spent an hour washing a finger painting of poop off the window, my husband fell down the stairs and was immobile for months the summer Mattie had open heart surgery,  I tripped over a scooter and nearly broke my toe, the money we saved to fix the bathroom just got spent on the mortgage, the freezer broke, everyone’s puking at once, no night nurse for Mattie, I have no idea what to make for dinner and I’m too tired to stand” kind of moments.

I’ve learned to laugh about life. There is LIFE in laughter, strength in throwing back your head and having a good laugh when nothing else works.

At some point in this crazy, wild life, John and I decided to laugh our way through as much of it as we could. Not everyone is a fan of sarcasm, but it has become my best friend. I’m not a fan of sarcasm at the expense of hurting someone else, but I am a fan of sarcasm when it allows me laugh my way through life’s nearly un-laughable moments.

Taking myself too seriously is just not an option. Getting all fumed and in a tizzy over the little (or not so little) stuff, just messes with my blood pressure and makes me really cranky.

I’m no fun when I’m cranky. Just stop by my house any given morning at 7AM and you will get to meet the “cranky” me.

Give me a cup of coffee and a shower, and I am capable of laughing through the rest of the day.

I challenge you to give it a try. It’s way better than the alternative.

With the fearful strain that is on me night and day, if I did not laugh I should die.  ~Abraham Lincoln

There is little success where there is little laughter. ~Andrew Carnegie<

I am thankful for laughter, except when milk comes out of my nose.  ~Woody Allen

Laughter gives us distance. It allows us to step back from an event, deal with it and then move on. ~Bob Newhart

Laughter is the corrective force which prevents us from becoming cranks.  ~Henri Bergson

Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face.  ~Victor Hugo

But more importantly the Lord says, “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” Proverbs 17:22

 

One thought on “Laugh, I Dare You!

Leave a Reply

