Uncategorized

Happy Mother’s Day to Me

It’s Mother’s Day and I have a lump in my heart this year.

My firstborn son is moving out on his own.

And yes, I cried a big snotty sob when he hugged me to walk out the door last night. And I blubbered out something like, “But I’ve had you your WHOLE LIFE!” to which he responded, “Oh, Mommy, I’m only moving 5 minutes away and I’ll be over a lot, I promise!”

Then to top it all of Elia started sobbing, “I don’t want Nicky to move. I want him to live with us forever!”

How did it even come to this? I’m so confused.

Wasn’t it just yesterday that he was dressing up as Batman, playing with his Playmobile, or out in the backyard shooting his bow and arrows?

I don’t know what happened, but it totally caught me off guard. I wasn’t prepared for this. AT. ALL.

This boy has filled my home with so much joy for nearly 20 years.

Here I am with Nick the day we brought him home from the hospital.

He is my firstborn.

I still marvel that they actually let me out the front door of the hospital with this child. What were they thinking?

This was just before my 24th birthday and I was in love.

Giving birth is one of the most painful, joyful, rewarding experience in this life.

Say goodbye to a child who is leaving home for the first time, might just top that in pain, joy, and reward!

I’m so proud of this amazing boy of mine. He is a wonderful, kind, creative, witty, generous, compassionate, wise young man; and I’m so excited to watch him embark on this new adventure.

I’d like to think I did a pretty good job of being his mom.

Not perfect, but pretty darn good.

Happy Mother’s Day to me.

3 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day to Me

  1. I just don’t want to think about this……praying for you!

    Must be so very hard. Glad he won’t be far away!

    HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO AN AMAZING WOMAN OF GOD who takes joy in helping others become mothers!!!!!!!!!

  2. Sigh. HE was absolutely adorable as a boy and so handsome now as well. It’s so hard to try to be empathetic because I dread the day my son moves out. So, I am in denial! But what a tribute.

Leave a Reply

