Uncategorized

Don’t Forget to Breathe

I don’t really know the song well, but my kids have it on some sort of playlist, “Don’t Forget to Breathe” by Alexi Murdock. (I had to google the few lyrics I did know in order to properly credit the artist. My family of musicians will tell you that my ability to retain music facts is poor, to say the least.)

Sunday morning however, as I sat in the quiet of Mattie’s room, unable to go to church once again; the lyrics, “Don’t Forget to Breathe” began to just play on repeat in my mind.

“So don’t forget to breathe
Don’t forget to breathe
Your whole life is here
No eleventh hour reprieve
So don’t forget to breathe

Keep your head above water
But don’t forget to breathe

Breathe….

Don’t forget to breathe
Don’t forget to breathe
You know you are here
But you find you want to leave
So don’t forget to… breathe

Just breathe….

I looked at my beautiful son. He was sleeping peacefully surrounded by the whirring sound of the machines that helps him breathe. He takes his own breaths, but the machine gives him an extra dose of support with each breath he takes because of the weakened condition of his lungs. And if he forgets to breathe, it breathes for him.

I’ve seen Mattie panic in fear or pain. I’ve watched him bear down, causing his lungs to tighten up.

I’ve watched him forget to breathe.

Do you ever find your self holding your breath? Whether physically or emotionally, sometimes pain and fear cause us to panic, to tighten up.

We forget to breathe.

I have forgotten to breathe so many times in the past two years.

But He has breathed for me. He steps in with His loving kindness and His gentleness, and He whispers, “Breathe, just breathe….”

And I breathe.

I breathe in all of His strength, His wisdom, His love, and His compassion.

There is a worship chorus from a number of years ago that speaks to this need that each of us have to breathe in the very essence of who Christ is.

This is the air I breathe
This is the air I breathe
Your holy presence
Living in me

This is my daily bread
This is my daily bread
Your very word
Spoken to me

And I … I’m desparate for you
And I … I’m lost without you

I cannot do this. I am simply not strong enough.

I am desperate.

I am lost.

There are days when all I can do is throw my head back and breathe in the strength of who He is.

This is one of those days.

Just breathe….

Photo courtesy of Aaron James.

4 thoughts on “Don’t Forget to Breathe

  1. Just breathe… takes on a whole new meaning for me after this weekend. Thanks for posting this. It really encouraged me today.

  2. This is exactly what I needed!!! Thanks to God to give someone words who has the ability to translate them into a “post” that reaches so many people all in different places in Life!!

Leave a Reply

