Uncategorized

Words

I really like words. I like the way they sound when they roll around in my head. I like the way the look when I sprawl them across a piece of paper or see them flow across the computer screen. I like the way they sound when I listen to them come out of my mouth. There is so much power in words. Power to love, to heal, or to make one laugh. Power to hurt, to break, or to make one cry.

I want my words to bring life. I want my words to speak the truth and pour out love on those receiving them. I want my words to bring forth smiles, hope, and laughter.

Proverbs 12:8 reads, “Wreckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.”

I’ve used my words to pierce at times, but my hearts desire is for my words to heal and breathe life into the one receiving them.

Proverbs 16:24 reads, “Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.”

I feel like this is a year for me to write more. I dream of writing books. They bounce around in my head, chapters, sentences, words…

My parents gave me a new Bible when I was a teenager. I still carry it. It is missing pages now (thanks kids), but I love it. It is familiar. I know where to find stuff. I have written in the margins, I have underlined and highlighted. I have had a relationship with that Book, and I don’t want a new one. (Well, I would like to get Romans chapters 5-7 back.)

In this Bible, in my mother’s handwriting, are the words, ” ‘He who refreshes others, will himself be refreshed.’ Proverbs 11:25. You are a refresher, Tracie.” 

That is the desire of my heart to refresh others with my words.

That is my singular resolution for 2012.

I pray that the Lord will pour into that desire and give me words that show love, give hope, words that that heal, and words that bring laughter and joy.

2 thoughts on “Words

  1. ” ‘He who refreshes others, will himself be refreshed.’ Proverbs 11:25. You are a refresher, Tracie.” – I love this, Tracie… this post, your passion, and what your mother said about you! (-:

Leave a Reply

