Uncategorized

The Story of My Life

I am glad I am not writing this story.

As much as I love to write, I am glad that the story of my life is being written by Someone Else.

I never could have dreamed this up.

Remember  junior high? Writing the names of boys on your note book? Or even try out “Mrs.” in front of your secret crush’s last name.

I think the Father smiled at that and chuckled knowing He didn’t need my help.

Remember discussing what job you would have? How many children you would have? Picking out their names?

It was fun. It was the stuff that childhood is made of, but all the while Someone Else was dreaming bigger than I ever could have.

And His dream was incredible.

Back when I was writing “Mrs. ______” (Can’t share all my secrets), He was writing Mrs. John Loux.

And oh my heart is so very glad.

This is the man He chose for me. He loves me well. Loves my children well.

This is the man that stopped and looked at me from across an enormous pile of laundry last week and said, “I wouldn’t want to be doing anything else. You know all the stuff you dream about, the stuff you think is so important. Music. Life on a stage. None of that matters compared to what we’re doing now. I wouldn’t change a thing.”

With tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat, I nodded, “Yes.”

And how many kids did you want? I think I wanted three.

I got three.

And then three more.

And then….

I was probably Isabelle’s age when I started dreaming about the family I would have one day.

I wonder what is inside this beautiful dreamer’s head.

I wonder what Someone Else is dreaming up in His head about her.

And for chapter of the story that I am now living, I will be forever grateful. Forever in awe.

Who could have dreamed something as magnificent as Matthias Samuel Loux.

Never in my wildest dreams.

But Someone Else did.

And I am glad.

So when it is hard, which is often. And when I feel stretched beyond what I could have ever imagined, which is nearly every day, I choose to fix my gaze upon the story in front of me and give thanks.

It is a good story.

7 thoughts on “The Story of My Life

  1. Amen. I am also SO glad that he doesn’t publish our “stories” before it’s His time. Beautiful post, Tracie, and beautiful pictures… but most of all… beautiful hearts.

  2. I remember traveling with a newborn that was only a few days old, because there was no way I was going to miss your wedding day…..You were MY baby and I wouldn’t have missed it for the world. I hoped on that day for ALL the good things and blessings that people usually wish newly weds. I knew your path would be a special one and as you write and I follow your amazing life (and I know it’s not easy, but none the less it is…. amazing) I feel that those wedding day wishes for you are coming true….You did marry an amazing partner and I stand in awe of what you both have accomplished. Thank you for letting us into your lives so we can experience a glimmer of true wonder and great blessings…..I think we might agree that some of the wonderful framework for the love you two share, was blessedly passed on by your amazing parents……

  3. A GREAT STORY!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank the LORD HE NEVER LISTENED to me……in what I thought I wanted and needed, and GAVE ME SOOO MUCH MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

