Uncategorized

Bursting at the Seams

My heart is just bursting at the seams. This holiday season my heart is so full of joy that I can hardly contain it. God is so good. He has been so faithful to our family. The past two years have been quite possibly the hardest years of our lives, but we have felt the kindness of the Lord hovering gently near, allowing our hearts to grieve, to be real, and to experience glimpses of hope and healing.

Mattie’s life is a living reflection of the grace of God. Every time I look at this precious face and am met with his glorious smile, I cannot help but worship the Lord with Thanksgiving and Praise for all he has done.

He is good and His mercy endures forever.

He is good. In the midst of loss and pain, fear and dread, in the midst of feeling like you’ll never be whole or completely alive again, He is good and His love is real.

His love will find you. So many times this past year I didn’t have the strength to pursue Him, yet He in His kindness pursued me because of His relentless love for me.

He is good.

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving with John’s family. There is still a huge ache in all of our hearts, missing Derek.

But we choose to celebrate all that we have been given and the gift that Derek’s life was to each of us. I looked around the room on Thanksgiving Day at faces of beautiful children who are part of our family- a legacy Derek left that will last, that will never be destroyed.

(Some of the cousins- the little cousins were far to busy to be corralled for a photo)

The weather this Thanksgiving weekend was delightful and we just couldn’t resist getting our tree.

And then it was game night! Nick and his handsome partner.

Belle and Elia were partners. SORRY!

Emma’s turn to say SORRY to Belle and Elia!

Taylor and his silly partner, Aiden!

Every moment of celebrating life with my children has taken on new meaning. I am so full of gratitude for the gift of life.

And then movie night just did me in. No it wasn’t “Santa Claus” the movie that sent me into uncontrollable weeping on my couch, it was the view at my feet.

See what I mean, my heart is just so full this year.

I sit in front of this tree every morning with my coffee and give thanks. Never in my life have I felt the reality of the spirit of Thanksgiving so strongly in my heart.

He is good.

He is good.

He is so very very good.

“Your love, O Lord, reaches to the heavens,

Your faithfulness to the skies.

Your righteousness is like the mighty mountains,

Your justice like the great deep.

O Lord, you preserve both man and beast.

How priceless is your unfailing love!

Both high and low among men

Find refuge in the shadow of your wings.

They feast on the abundance of your house;

You give them drink from your river of delights.

For with you is the fountain of life;

In your light we see light.”

Psalm 36:5-9

5 thoughts on “Bursting at the Seams

  1. Precious. I’m find the first holidays with a loved one gone are the hardest (grief is such a big black hole). I know JOY comes from suffering and LIFE follows death and I am praising GOD for the LIFE in your family and extended family!!! It gives me HOPE that LIFE WILL COME! Blessings to all of you this precious time of year.

  2. Tracie,

    I am in tears. This is beautiful. What an amazing tribute to Jesus ….

    Celebrating Him and His mighty work with you,
    Sara

Leave a Reply

