Uncategorized

Marry Well, Girls

This is my man. I married well.

No, he is not the heir to a large fortune and his lifetime of investment has not been in the stock market. He has invested in me. He has invested in his children’s lives. He has poured in, loved well, and given much when no one was looking and with no one there to reward or validate his accomplishments.

I watched my husband mop the kitchen floor a few days ago in his blue jeans and black t-shirt and thought, “There is nothing sexier than a man who loves and serves his family well.”

Today I was wiped out, sick in bed most of the day. I wandered around like a sick puppy a few times, and he ushered me back to bed. He brought me pillows and blankets, stroked my head, and went to the store for Coke because I asked for it. He carted kids to school, picked up kids from school, made two trips to the hospital to spend time with Mattie, mopped and cleaned the kitchen, cleaned both bathrooms, and ran the vacuum through the house. Yes, that is how my sweet husband spent his day- loving and caring for his family.

So girls, if you’re out there looking, look for a guy who knows how to love and serve, and you will have found a treasure.

Marry well, girls.

10 thoughts on “Marry Well, Girls

  1. I so agree! So many women settle. I was married to the most wonderful man for 22 years. Was he perfect? No. Neither am I. But we worked hard at our marriage and reaped the rewards. Great marriage, 4 great kids. The Lord called him home in 1999 at the age of 43…far too soon but I trust my Heavenly Father with my life. I hope to marry again. I could have settled these past 12 years, but I know what it’s like to have the man God chooses for me, not the one I choose. Thank you so much for posting this. You are a blessed woman and I know that he is a blessed man to have you for his wife. (ps….if he has any single friends in their 50’s who love the mountains……….lol) Never met you, but I love you! You are certainly an inspiration to me!

  2. AMEN!!!!! A man who loves you and your children, but most of all the Lord is worth more than any mega paying job- ANY DAY OF THE YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Money, is just money, but a caring man who serves- that is truly sexy!!!

    I agree!!! So glad I have a man like that!!!!!

    So ladies when you find that kind of a man- hold on tight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. It is great to have a great husband! I am also blessed with a great guy–one that I prayed for and God brought to me!…Life sometimes works out different than you expect, but if you allow God to move in your life, the unexpected things are truly awesome!

  4. This post came at the perfect time for me as I feel the pressure to find a husband from the people around me lately as I turned 26:) I desire a man with a heart for God and orphans (and who will accept my 3 brothers with Downs) and I have yet to meet one so I will continue to love and serve God until that day. Thanks for allowing God to speak through you and use you so powerfully.

Leave a Reply

