Uncategorized

You are My Sunshine

Photo courtesy of my dear friend Shelley Paulson (and her iphone)

My son is a miracle. He is a gift and a treasure. I am constantly in awe of the kindness of the Lord to allow this precious boy to become my son.

Mattie’s heart surgery was last Wednesday and he is doing really well. He is off all IV drip pain meds, and is only given pain meds as needed right now. Today has been a wonderful day. He still has staples in his chest and a drainage tube, but that should all be gone by the end of the week.

Today he had a bronchogram to evaluate his respiratory/ventilator support needs. Prior to the procedure he had been on a “peep” of 15 (which a vent pressure that holds the lungs open at the end of each breath, keeping them from collapsing). He is now on a peep of 10. Part of this may be due to the fact that it has been over 3 months since his tracheostomy, and part may be due to the decrease in pressure to his lungs from heart (result of the PA banding).

He has also had a significant decrease in the amount of diuretics that are needed to alleviate fluid build up in his body.

They are starting Gtube feedings very slowly and we are praying that his tummy will tolerate this.

So the primary points of prayer for Mattie at this point would be:
1. That the PA banding would continue to allow for improvement in heart and lung function.
2. That he would be able to being receiving nutrition through his Gtube without discomfort.
3. That we would continue to see improvements to his respiratory condition and decreased need for ventilator support.

We are so blessed. So very very blessed by all of your prayers.

9 thoughts on “You are My Sunshine

  1. YEAH MATTIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU ARE A BEAUTIFUL MIRACLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PRAYING for those things specifically 🙂 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love you 🙂

  2. I know how much you love your boy and I cannot fathom the feelings you have for him, because I love him so much, and I’m only an “adopted” Auntie. I’ll continue to pray for your Boy! Love ~ Jo

  3. God is Good… and so is your family! Love is changing this child’s world… your family’s consistency, your continual presence, the testimony of Mattie and you! Praying and praying… HEAPS! My son prayed so fervently over the letter that we sent. I just told my son (9 years old) how well Mattie is doing. He shouted, “Yay, yay, YAY! YAY!!!” Mattie’s not forgotten in our prayers.

  4. I have never seen a sweeter picture of that beautiful boy,I’m so happy he is getting better.you are all in my prayers daily.

  5. Mattie is such a miracle! I have been praying for your family for some time now but am terrible and have failed to leave a comment. Your dear son is such an inspiration and I would love to share his site with others. I run a prayer support page called “Asher and Jacob’s Friends”, named after my beautiful miracle nephews. If you would like to add Mattie to the list so that others will hear his story and hold him in prayer, please go to the site and register. No matter what, know your family will remain in my prayers.

    -Laura
    http://www.asherandjacobsfriends.com

Leave a Reply

