Uncategorized

It’s a Good Day When….

It’s always a good day when you are told that your son does NOT have……. (fill in the blank).

So the past few days we’ve been told Mattie does NOT have a whole bunch of diseases and disorders. That my friends, is good news.

After eliminating a great deal of possibilities the medical team has decided to put him on a maintenance dose of Lasix in addition to his other diuretics. They will watch him carefully because in the past he has developed kidney stones (a side effect of Lasix). He had two doses of Lasix, one Monday night, and one Tuesday morning, and he has since then lost about a pound of water weight! Good news considering he had gained nearly 2 pounds in a week due to edema.

He still has some swelling in his lymph nodes and they are running a few more labs for viral type infections.

The Cardiology team will revisit Mattie’s case on Friday during their weekly meeting and will look at the possibility that it may ultimately be his heart attributing to the fluid retention. We will wait and see what the consensus is after that meeting, but it is possible that Mattie may need his heart surgery sooner than “late summer.”

Mattie getting ready to work with is OT. He doesn’t look so thrilled!

You can still see some signs of facial edema but I can assure you this is WAY better than how he looked this weekend.

We cannot thank you enough for all of your prayers and encouragement!

 

“Because Mattie loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him; I will protect Mattie, for he acknowledges my name.

Mattie will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with Mattie in trouble, I will deliver Mattie and honor him.

With long life will I satisfy Mattie and show him my salvation.”

 

5 thoughts on “It’s a Good Day When….

  1. I’m so glad he is doing better. I’m still praying the Lord shows the doctors exactly what the issue is and, better yet, heals Mattie. Bless you guys!

Leave a Reply

