Uncategorized

He is Our Refuge

The past few days we have seen a stead increase in the level of fluid retention in Mattie’s body. The typical treatment of giving diuretics has had not lessened the edema that Mattie is struggling with. Since last Saturday, he has gained 2 lbs, the majority of that due to fluid build up in his body. The past two days we have been discussing the various possibilities for why this is happening, and so far have gotten a lot of answers to what it is not, but not anything clear on what is causing it.

The normal labs have been done, ultrasound has been done of his neck and face (where the worst of the swelling has settled).  We have eliminated infection. There is no fever and no lab work indicates signs of infections. There is no clot or tumor in his neck (yes this was a consideration). His heart is functioning as well as it should be given the defect and is not causing the fluid build up.

Tomorrow they have called a Hematology consult and we will be getting another set of labs based on Hemotolgy’s request. They will be looking at several disorders involving the lymphatic system, as well as the possibility of leukemia. As you can imagine this has been a very difficult day, and we would appreciate your prayers.

John and I were able to spend the majority of the day with Mattie, and John is actually headed back down to the hospital now. We prayed over him and spoke the truth about the miracle and beauty of his life. We told him that he is fearfully and wonderfully made, wanted and loved, and that God has an incredible plan for his life.

At one point I felt impressed to read Psalm 91 over him. I personalized it for him and we prayed it over him.

We would like to ask that you join us as often as you can over the next 24 hours, specifically praying Psalm 91 over our sweet boy. If you can commit even to doing this once or twice, we would be so grateful. We hope to have some miraculous answers to pray by the end of the day tomorrow. Please pray and believe with us.

Mattie dwells in the shelter of the Most High, and he will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

Mattie will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”

Surely he will save Mattie from the fowler’s snare and from the deadly pestilence.

He will cover Mattie with his feathers, and under his wings Mattie will find refuge; His faithfulness will be Mattie’s shield and rampart.

Mattie will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day,

Nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday.

A thousand may fall at Mattie’s side, ten thousand at his right hand, but it will not come near Mattie.

Mattie will only observe with his eyes and see the punishment of the wicked.

Mattie has made the Most High his dwelling— even the LORD, who is Mattie’s refuge—

Then no harm will befall him, no disaster will come near Mattie’s tent.

For He will command His angels concerning Mattie to guard him in all his ways;

They will lift Mattie up in their hands, so that he will not strike his foot against a stone.

Mattie will tread upon the lion and the cobra; Mattie will trample the great lion and the serpent.

“Because Mattie loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him; I will protect Mattie, for he acknowledges my name.

Mattie will call upon me, and I will answer him; I will be with Mattie in trouble, I will deliver Mattie and honor him.

With long life will I satisfy Mattie and show him my salvation.”

Psalm 91 (A Momma’s Paraphrase for her son)

22 thoughts on “He is Our Refuge

  1. Oh, Tracie, I’m so sorry to hear that Mattie has had a setback. I will be praying your beautifully paraphrased Psalm 91 for your sweet boy. Believing for miraculous answers/total healing.

  2. oh my i am so very sorry that sweet baby cheeks is suffering so badly,i of course will be praying over and over for all of you,especially that sweet boy who was most defintly fearfully and wonderfully made.

  3. Praying for our little Mattie boy. Trusting Jesus for total healing for our little darlin.
    We love you all and we know the plans Jesus has for Mattie are amazing! We are
    standing with you!!

  4. I have already prayed for sweet little Mattie and will continue. May God give you both strength during this difficult time. You are all in the palm of His hand as He carries you.

  5. Standing with yo for Mattie’s total and complete healing!!! Won’t stop until we see it!

  6. Tracie, you don’t know me, but I am a friend of Joshua and Mandy Rushing and I began following your blog about a year ago. I have prayed for your family and for Mattie many times. I felt impressed today to share a dream I had not very long ago. I dreampt I came to Kansas City to visit you at your house and that you had brought Mattie HOME. I remember in the dream holding him and he was doing so well. His health was good and he was smiling and looking around your house. In the dream you could tangibly feel the joy and rejoicing. After reading your blog today I felt I needed to share the dream and I hope it is an encouragement to you.

  7. Dear Traci,
    Oh how your faith has encouraged my soul. Even in the storm your strength in the Fathers love, and faithfulness shines through. Praying for God’s peace and complete healing for your sweet baby boy. Your’s and Jon’s lives as well as the lives of Derek and Renee have encouraged us so much we are in the process of adopting 2brothers and a sister from DCS. Thank you for all the sacrafices and for leading the way into the arms of the broken. We are forever grateful.
    In thought and prayer,
    Julie

  8. Just agreed with you in prayer outloud! God is bigger even than all this! Looking forward to the good report of the Lord on Mattie’s behalf! Amen!

  9. Praying confidently with you knowing that God’s Word will not return to Him void but accomplish that which He sent it forth to do. May the living Word in Psalm 91 fill each of you with fresh strength and power for the day at hand. May you press forward to the victor’s ring knowing that it is Christ in you that secures the win. Love and blessings!

Leave a Reply

