Uncategorized

…so that our hands remained steady.

Exodus 17:12 “When Moses’ hands grew tired, they took a stone and put it under him and he sat on it. Aaron and Hur held his hands up–one on one side, one on the other–so that his hands remained steady till sunset.”

The other day I was remembering the night I received the call to come quickly to the hospital because my son was throwing up blood. I’m not sure how I got from point A to point B, but I did. I was weak and I was afraid. As I entered the NICU and started to race down the hall, the nurse stopped me and told me to wait for someone to come get me. NOT a good feeling. Standing there completely shell shocked, I waited as a white coated doctor walked towards me. My legs barely help me up.

He told me, not quite quickly enough, that Mattie was alive, and then gave me the full report which included a lot of unknowns.

I was taken to Mattie’s bedside to see my son being tended to by a myriad of medical professionals. I made a follow up phone call to John to give him an update. I sent out texts and posts asking for prayer for our son.

And I prayed.

In the hours that followed, John arrived, and it became very clear that Mattie was a very sick little boy. The following day, as the medical staff prepared to transfer Mattie, John and I stood at our sons bed and prayed.

John would pray. I would pray. I remember many times where nothing would come out. I would pray in the spirit, until I could no longer do that, and then I simply stood, trusting that the Lord was hearing the cry of my heart.

As I shared with a dear friend, the struggle I was facing, feeling like such a weak intercessor, she reminded me that Jesus Himself was interceding for us and for our son. He lives to make intercession for us.

“Therefore He is also able to save to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, since He always lives to make intercession for them.” Hebrews 7:25

At one point however, I remember such an intense surge of strength in the middle of incredible weakness. I prayed intently, scripture coming to mind effortlessly, words of LIFE pouring out of my lips. I knew at the moment that I was surrounded and being lifted before the Father.

I am sharing this because this is the only way I can express my thanks to each of you who have prayed faithfully for our son. I want you to know beyond a shadow of a doubt that your prayers were heard, and that we did indeed feel that our hands were being held up through the intercession of the body of Christ. Thank you.

And to all of the many children who have been praying I want you to know that Jesus has heard your prayers. He saved Mattie’s life when he was very very sick. He is continuing to heal him and is making him stronger each day. Jesus hears you when you pray.

2 thoughts on “…so that our hands remained steady.

  1. The whole thought, and the way you have so intimately and openly expresses yourself makes me cry all over again.

    See you at Christmas, Mattie! Memaw and papa love you!

  2. Hi Tracie-
    I am a friend of Krista Farrell’s and have been following what has been going on with precious Mattie. At the moment, I am sitting in a hospital room at Children’s Mercy with my one month old daughter who is having yet-to-be diagnosed GI issues. We were here for a week, released, and then when the same symptoms started to flare up again, we came back. Your post brought tears to my eyes as I am sitting here feeling struggling to find the words to intercede for my baby girl… feeling like the only advocate for her and feeling like I’m not doing a good enough job. Your post was just what I needed to hear- that Jesus is the Intercessor and that He is the Advocate for our babies and He never stops… even when we feel too weak to join Him. Thank you for being so vulnerable and sharing your heart during this incredibly difficult and trying time. God is using you and using Mattie for His glory.

Leave a Reply

