Uncategorized

Missin’ My Boy

John and I just switched places for the week. John is in St Louis with Mattie and I am home with our other 6 giving them some much needed “Mommy Time,” playing a little catch up on work and life, and getting Nick ready to fly out on Friday for a 2 week missions trip to Poland.

It was hard to leave my sweet tiny boy yesterday, but I left him in the amazing hands of his daddy. As I left, the nurse put the side of his bed down so that I could get in their and get my hands and my lips on him. As I kissed him, he opened up his eyes for a few seconds and just looked at me. This was the first time I had seen his eyes in days. Jesus knew what my heart needed.

It has been determined that Mattie has a severe staph infection, and he is on two antibiotics. He will be on antibiotics for 4-6 weeks. Deep sigh. What this means is that he will be in the hospital for at least another month. There is the strong possibility that if he gets strong enough, they will be able to transport him to Children’s Mercy in Kansas City. Please pray to that end.

In the mean time, we are living in two cities. Our current plan is that one of us will be with Mattie and one of us will be with the Kansas City crew Mon-Thurs, and then we will all go to St Louis for a three day weekend together. Then Mommy and Daddy will flip flop. Rinse. Repeat.

I was welcomed home yesterday by some very delighted children. Most amazing for my heart was my greeting from Emma. She literally raced to the van and jumped into my arms. But more importantly, before I could get a word out, Emma squealed, “MOMMA I LOVE YOU. MOMMA, YOU BACK!” This phrase was repeated countless times over the next half hour. If you have followed our lives for the past year and a half, you understand how GOOD this is. Emma is now a CONNECTED CHILD!

My little girl, who just a short time ago, sat rocking and moaning on the floor and recoiled at my touch, sees me as her Momma and declares her love and her affection for me willingly.

As I thought about Emma’s healing and how far the Lord has brought her, I couldn’t help but think about my sweet Matthias. The same power that has transformed my precious Emma from the inside out, is able to completely heal and restore Mattie from all sickness and disease. He who promised is faithful.

(I know this is hard to see, but I really wanted you to see our sweet boy- this was taken yesterday)

Continue to Pray:

1. For this infection to BE DRIVEN OUT of Mattie’s body.

2. For his lungs and heart to continue to strengthen so that he can get weaned off the ventilator and medications.

3. For financial provision as we commute and live in two cities.

4. For strength for John and I as we walk out the next month caring for our family.

12 thoughts on “Missin’ My Boy

  1. My heart goes out to you and John. We will be praying for little Mattie and your entire family as you walk through this amazing journey that God has called you to! You are truly amazing! God IS faithful! and He WILL DO what He has promised! Love From the Barnes Family of Five! 🙂

  2. I stand in awe of the mercy of God to bring this little one into your family. What other family could provide so many hundreds/thousands of people to pray for his healing? God’s glory will be broadcast far and wide as Mattie is healed. What a little miracle this boy is!

  3. I’m a friend of Tiffany White’s and have been following since she told us about little Mattie. Praying for all of your family. Thrilled for little Emma. God Bless!

  4. He is absolutely beautiful. Mattie and your family have been on my mind since I first a a prayer request for you. I am praying for you all. May God bless and keep you. Can’t wait for the day that we see Mattie with a smile on his face

  5. Ended up at your blog via the Wright family’s blog. I live in St. Louis with my family. Please contact me. Maybe we can help one way or another.

    Kathleen
    Mom to two birth kids 16 & 21
    Mom to four adopted bio-siblings (domestic adoption) 15, 19, 20, & 22

  6. Your family is one of amazing inspiration and love. We will keep praying for you and awaiting the news of Mattie going home to Kansas!

  7. I just wanted to let you know that every time I begin to pray for Mattie and your family I am so overwhelmed with peace and I wanted you to know. I am assured of His peace in this whole situation. What a blessing this little boy has already been to so many people. May God continue to strengthen all of you and give you the peace that passes all understanding. Can’t wait to watch God do what only He can do in Mattie.

  8. Praying Tracie.

    As I sat in the hospital with my little guy all weekend, I kept thinking of Mattie and offering prayers for him.

    You guys are so amazing.

Leave a Reply

