Uncategorized

Let Your Name Be Glorified in Mattie’s Life

That was one of my prayers all day today, “Father be glorified in our son’s life. Let your name be made great in all the earth. We declare that you are good and that your mercy endures forever.”

Mattie struggled much of the day. What we know now is that he experienced septic shock. Meaning basically that his body was not getting rid of CO2 and that his blood pressure was incredibly low due to the massive infection in his body. Major medications were given to stabilize him so that he could be transported by helicopter to a Cardinal Glennon Children’s Hospital.

Nothing prepares a momma’s heart to see her son fight for his life and be carried off in a helicopter.

We are so grateful to all of you that have prayed, left messaged, texts, or comments. Please know that it has helped more than we can say. There were times in the past few days where I completely understood why Moses needed Caleb and Joshua to hold up his arms. There were times I simply had no words to pray. I just stood in silence knowing that you were all praying.

At one point today I stood at the foot of Mattie’s bed today in the midst of a very difficult struggle for him to breath, only able to gentle place my fingers on his tiny toes. As I  stood there, emotionally and physically weak, I felt infused with faith and authority in my prayers. I know it was because you were all surrounding me with your prayers. Thank you.

Today I was grateful for worship songs written from the Word and for all the scripture I have memorized since childhood. In the face of trial, there is no way to survive without having the Word literally written on your heart.

Tonight my sweet boy is still very sick. He has infection throughout his entire little body. (He is septic.) He is on antibiotics and a number of other medications for his heart and lungs. However, what many of you don’t know is that we were transferred here so that he could have surgery for lung bypass, which they told us was “our last resort” to save his life. Meaning, they would have used a machine to do the job his sick lungs were trying to do.

At the moment, as my boy sleeps. His CO2 levels are NORMAL. He has gone from 100% oxygen to 58% in his ventilator. He is almost completely weaned from one of the two blood pressure medications, he is urinating (which he had not been doing), and his O2 levels are AWESOME!

Thank you for your continued prayers. Today the cardiologist looked at me with pitiful eyes and tried to say something helpful, which basically came out as, “We’ll he’s not out of the woods, but we haven’t given up.” I looked back at him, with hope in my eyes, and said, “Dr. B, I need for you to understand that our hope is in the Lord. There are thousands of people praying for this little boy. They are praying that he will be well and that you will have wisdom on how to care for him. We believe that God’s hand is on this little boys life.”

So tonight continue to prayer. I will sleep by Mattie’s bed tonight while John goes back to the Ronald McDonald house to get some sleep and tomorrow we will wake up prepared to watch the Lord finish the work He began in Mattie’s life.

 

18 thoughts on “Let Your Name Be Glorified in Mattie’s Life

  1. I’m so glad to see he’s doing better! We are continuing to pray. PLEASE, let me know if there’s anything I can do. Even if it’s just to listen, or pray in the middle of the night, or whatever. (Seven years of being a Nightwatch mom is good training to handle middle of the night phone calls and prayer requests.) I love you.

  2. Just want you to know, Tracie, that I have been praying and will continue to do so! Mattie’s life is in God’s hands and HE IS being glorified! Strength, peace and a strong sense of the presence of God to you,
    Love in Jesus,
    isabel from New Zealand

  3. Tracie,

    The first Scripture I read this morning has been declared for you.
    Psalm 20:
    May the LORD answer you when you are in distress;
    may the name of the God of Jacob protect you.
    May he send you help from the sanctuary
    and grant you support from Zion.
    May he remember all your sacrifices
    and accept your burnt offerings.
    Selah
    May he give you the desire of your heart
    and make all your plans succeed.
    We will shout for joy when you are victorious
    and will lift up our banners in the name of our God.
    May the LORD grant all your requests.
    Now I know that the LORD saves his anointed;
    he answers him from his holy heaven
    with the saving power of his right hand.
    Some trust in chariots and some in horses,
    but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.
    They are brought to their knees and fall,
    but we rise up and stand firm.
    O LORD, save the king!
    Answer us when we call!

  4. PRAISE THE LORD for the healing the Lord is doing in Mattie’s tiny body! My prayers today are for continued healing for this sweet angel,for strength for you and John and wisdom for the doctors that can only come from HIM! May God shine through this precious one and your entire family!
    Amazed by HIS grace,
    Elisabeth

  5. Praying continually over Mattie and over you and John & your other children!!!! Words can’t express what is on our hearts, but know we love you!!!

  6. Although you do not know me, I have been reading your blog for several years. Please know I am praying day and night for your family and trusting God to wrap His arms around each of you and fill you with peace, healing, and hope. Blessings from NC.
    Laura G.

  7. Just wanted to stop by and let you know I am praying! You don’t know me but I’ve been getting updates on Mattie from Dana Reik. Also Cardinal Glennon is a great hospital for little ones I’m so glad they transferred him there! We had an experience there a few years ago with our 8 weeks old son when he came down with pneumonia. The care he recieved while there was wonderful and he recovered quickly. I am praying the same for Mattie!

    God is Able!

  8. Here in Mississippi we are praying, praying, praying. You KNOW that our God is a God of healing, and he is showing that in Mattie’s life! The Lord has not even begun to finish the Work in Mattie’s life. He’s an amazing boy with an amazing witness to tell other for the rest of his life!!! I am praying right not that the Lord would send hosts of his angels to Mattie and to you all. Thanks for keeping us all updated.

  9. I can only imagine what it was like for you to place the transfer blankie on Mattie and see him whisked away by helicopter. I went to the Cardinal Glennon website and took the virtual tour. It looks like an awesome facility. Also printed out the list of neonatologists. (Will concentrate on the “B’s”.) Continuing to pray for Mattie’s healthcare team and that each person working with Mattie will feel God’s presence the minute they walk into his hospital room and that they will know, without a doubt, that God’s hand is upon this child and his family. Interceding that every one of Mattie’s bodily functions, systems and organs will come into alignment with life, healing, health and wholeness. Praying for strength for you and John as you walk out this journey. May your family feel the peace and refuge of His everlasting arms around you.

  10. Cardinal Glennon is fantastic — they will be all over Mattie.
    Our daughter had septic shock/kidney failure twice and is thriving now. GOD will get Mattie through this. PRaying for you all.

  11. Through a friend, I was directed to your blog this morning. I soon realized that I once worked with John at Kingdom, Inc. I am and will continue to pray for Mattie’s healing and I know that there is much comfort knowing that he is in God’s hands and that HE will care for Mattie and everyone that loves him. Thank you so very much for sharing all that you are and sharing yourselves with so many that need love, guidance and the word of God in their lives….May Jesus Christ continue to guide you in your journey.

  12. Oh, praying, praying, praying! Continue to be a light in this dark world during this difficult time. The armies of heaven are backing you up!

  13. I just learned of your blog a few days ago from the Malone Family blog. I have a 5 year old son with Ds. He is also a heart baby (OHS at 8 weeks, complete AV canal). I know all too well what Mattie’s complications are. Once a heart momma, always a heart momma. I will be following your blog and saying prayers for sweet dear Mattie.

  14. I can only imagine what a difficult time this must be for you right now. I am praying for you and will continue to do so.

    One Mom to another, I know it is our nature to push on and on for our children when they need us, try to remember to get some rest yourself and eat, so you can stay strong for Mattie.
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

