Uncategorized

Giving

Today was a hard day, I’m not gonna lie. I’ve always said that I would be honest on this blog, so here it goes.

Today I felt like a bad mom. But the more I walk through this, the more I realize, I can’t rely on on feelings to carry me through a day.

If I relied on my feelings, I wouldn’t be married. If I relied on my feelings, I’m not sure I’d even be saved.

I’m not a bad mom.

I’m not a bad wife.

I’m not a bad daughter.

I’m growing. I’m learning. I’m leaning. I’m trusting.

Today I wasn’t perfect. Were you? I’m guessing you probably weren’t.

Tonight after I got home from a little respite (courtesy of Daddy and a pedicure), I went to each of my kids beds and tucked them in. As I tucked THIS little girl in bed,  I told her I was sorry. I told her that I loved her and that we were going to be ok.

She held my face in her hands, even when I had let her down, and said, “Momma, Momma, Momma. You’re home!” She wrapped her arms around my neck and squeezed me hard.

I didn’t deserve it, but she gave me a gift. She forgave me. She loved me anyway.

So tonight, as I go to bed, I go to bed forgiven and loved.

10 thoughts on “Giving

  1. Tracie~
    Glad you got out and had a bit of you time. Glad you know that none of us are perfect and that all of us have those kinds of days, weeks, months, years 😉

    and ps…thank you for listing me on your sidebar as (your friend Kimmie). So nice to have or be thought of as a friend. Your words are like balm to my heart.

    sending a hug…
    Kimmie
    mama to 8
    one homemade and 7 adopted

  2. ya know what I love about God??? Justification, which Jesus took care of on the cross. Sanctification, which the Holy Spirit works out in me.
    I learned this a couple years ago and they are 3 Key Statements to live by:
    1. My goal is life is to please/glorify God.
    2. I do that by becoming more like Jesus.
    3. He doesn’t expect me to be perfect, but to be growing.

    Sometimes we don’t see our own growth, ie. sanctification process. But it’s like our kids’ feet. We don’t actually SEE them growing each day, however, we know that they are because every 6 months or so, we need to buy them new shoes.
    His redemption is so wonderful. I’m glad you’re my sister in Him. Growing and being sanctified right along with ya, my dear friend. Some days are uglier than others…hee hee.
    xo!

  3. Some days are hard. Period. And thankfully, we are forgiven by those we love. I’ve been on the receiving end of that forgiveness a lot. Thank God they are able to see past my flaws and wrongs as a mom to love me anyway. ♥

  4. Tracie, the picture is so beautiful that I teared up before I even started reading. There is no doubt in my mind that all of your children shall rise up and call you blessed! : )

  5. A. You are awesome.

    B. I totally saw this picture and couldn’t believe how much Emma is looking like you!! 🙂

    C. You are awesome.

Leave a Reply

