Uncategorized

What Does it Look Like to Ransom a LIFE?

A week ago, April 21st, a precious family, Roger and Angela Spier said YES to LIFE. I had gotten word about a little boy (now Jonah) who had just been born with Down Syndrome and the adoptive family had backed out of the adoption after finding he had DS because they didn’t feel prepared for a child with special needs. The agency was frantically trying to find a family to come adopt this child.

After wrestling with the Lord and realizing this was not to be MY child, I made some calls, posted a few “Help” posts and Roger and Angela connected with the agency. Just like that were preparing for an all night drive to Wichita, KS. There was a lot of emailing, a lot of texting and great faith to believe that the Father would provide every penny of the $14,500 needed to complete this adoption. The first sign of the Lord’s faithfulness was a neighbor who walked over and handed Angela $1000. I gave Angela quick instructions on how to set up a paypal account, and told her I would get the word out. I had incredible faith that the Lord would do this.

Then in the midst of some crazy God whirlwind, the body of Christ came together in just one week and gave $14,500 to rescue this precious one and set him in a family that would love him forever and raise him to know the true love of the Father.

Angela and Roger are “friends of a friend” and have been facebook/email acquaintances of mine for a year or so. At this moment however we are friends for life. This kind of journey unites hearts in a pretty solid way. And let me tell you, I can hardly wait to hold this little guy in my arms one day and tell him how many people believed in his life, and how very much I love him.

I’ve hear things like “you have a real knack for fund raising” or “wow, you must be really powerful,” and honestly it’s really none of that at all. I just used my voice and the platform the Lord has given me to speak out for this precious LIFE and declare that he is “fearfully and wonderfully made” and worth every bit of sacrifice required for the redemption of his life. After all the Father paid the ultimate price, the life of His very own son, to adopt each of us into His family and call us His children. A measly 14.5K is nothing compared to that.

I spent the last hour compiling some numbers in regards to the giving that took place for this adoption. I did it to show you that every penny counts. I think sometimes people hesitate to give when they consider their gift to be small. I’d like to encourage you that it is the act of giving that blesses the Father’s heart and releases a complete outpouring of provision. Look what God did!

Here’s how it went down:

182 donations were received

91 people gave under $30

38 people gave $31-$60

2 people gave $61-$99

42 people gave $100-$200

5 people gave $201-$500

4 people gave $501-$1000

1 person gave over $1000

(The average donation was $80.)

I would also like to note that many of you I do not know, have never met, and may never meet. But I am grateful for each and everyone of you. From CA, FL, PA, TX, CO, MI, KY, MO, KS, IN, SC, AR, Canada….the list goes on!)

From the bottom of my heart,

Thank you all!

Tracie

18 thoughts on “What Does it Look Like to Ransom a LIFE?

  1. Praise the Lord!!!! Wonderful news…God is so amazing. I love it…when He wants a baby with their forever family, He will move the mountains. Thank you for letting us be part of this!!! Blessings, stacy

  2. Uummm… Roger and Angie… Spier??? And do all their kids names begin with a J??? They lived in IN???

    If so, I know them! Whoaaa….!!!

    And Wow!!!!! How amazing the Lord is for a family for Jonah!

    Just goes to show that no gift is too small!

  3. Look! His pajamas say ROAR…I think I hear the roar of the Lion of the Tribe of Judah over this one’s life!!!!!

  4. Wow, average $80. MOST people can do that with not even a thought! Thanks for your heart on this sis! Love you!

  5. I am so thankful to have been a part of this. Thank you, Jesus. What a privilige. I pray LIFE from heaven would fill this little boy’s life and that he would become a John the Baptist, and love Jesus with all His heart, soul, mind and strength.

  6. This is amazing!!! My husband and I consider ourselves blessed to have been a part of this even though we may never meet precious little Jonah until the next age. Thank you for sharing the breakdown of the gifts. That was very encouraging to read!

  7. Isn’t God amazing!? Not only did he provide for the new parents financially but he provided parent for a sweet baby who needed just right people to raise him. Absolutely awesome!!

  8. oh, this is just beautiful. i’m completely in love with this story. and completely in love with God. what a beautiful picture this is of community LOVING each other. thank you for allowing us to play a small role. so happy for jonah and his family!

  9. Rejoicing with you at God’s goodness. How good to hear of how quickly He brought the money that was needed. Humbled and amazed always by His hand.

    thank you Tracie for sharing this.

    Kimmie
    mama to 8
    one homemade and 7 adopted

  10. This is truly gods work at it’s best! I feel so blessed to have this precious little man as part of my family now, i am a proud cousin! This story has boosted my faith in people. Thank you to all the amazing people who helped get Jonah to us, we are a family full of love! And thank you Tracie for the work you do! Jonah is so blessed!

    “But my god shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus”
    Philippians 4:19 (KJV)

  11. Thank you for posting Dorean’s Blog on your twitter side bar. “Stone Soup Babies” What an amazing title for a movement that somethings starts with nothing and when everyone brings their little bit – out comes a precious baby. For those that haven’t read it , I recommend checking out the classic children’s book STONE SOUP!

  12. “Oh, how He loves us so
    Oh how He loves us”

    Filled with the beauty of the Father’s love for His children reading of the FUN the Provider had in pouring out for this little guy. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

