Uncategorized

Emma

IMG_2829

If you have been following the story of our recent adoptions, you will know without even reading the words that follow what this image represents to me. My eyes begin to well up at the thought of it. 

Emma loves me. I love Emma. She runs to me. She hugs me tightly. She kisses me voluntarily. She snuggles with me in the mornings in my bed. She touches my face and smiles. She has watched Taylor give me neck rubs and now she loves to sit behind me and squeeze my shoulders with her tiny little hands. 

The emptiness in Emma’s eyes is slowly being replaced by a glow that tells me that her heart is becoming more and more alive every day. 

Has it been easy? Absolutely not. There are days I have wondered, “What have we done?” There are days I begged God to help me love her the way that He loves her. There are days when she has melt downs and behavior that I cannot explain and do not understand. This morning though as I held her in my arms for our morning snuggle, she felt like my little girl. I love the smell of her, the feel of her skin, the sound of her laugh. I love the mystery of who she is, and I can hardly wait to discover who she is deep inside.

Health Update: Emma is on an antibiotic treatment for 9 months to prevent a flair of of active TB. She has appointments with Audiology and Opthamology in the next weeks. I am anxious to know if she has an vision or hearing deficits. 

12 thoughts on “Emma

  1. Oh Tracie;

    It looks like she is running to you. God is so good. Thanks for sharing the praise report…its a good one.

    Kimmie
    mama to 7
    one homemade and 6 adopted

  2. I rejoice with you!! There’s something about little Emma that
    has caused a love, for her, in my heart from the start!! Hope-
    fully, I’ll soon get to snuggle her, too!

    Love Ya’, Mom M.

  3. Mom,
    I know you and Emma are going to hit it off. I think the two of you have a lot in common. I have visions of the two of you together and they are all so sweet.

    Praying our trip to Michigan works out!

  4. Only God knows the mysteries in Emma’s little heart but He is using you and John and the kids to unlock them. It will be worth it to see this little butterfly change with your love and persistance. There is a treasure there and you have been given the priveledge to find it. She is precious.

    Mom L.

Leave a Reply

