Uncategorized

We Tucked Our Kids in Bed Tonight

Ahhhh, tonight we tucked Emma and Aiden in bed. It was amazing to have our babies clean, in soft jammies, and snuggled up in bed. It was actually very surreal. The thing we’ve long for has finally happened. 

Today we signed the children out of the orphanage and were on the road by 10:30AM. They were so excited when we arrived to get them. The nurses helped dress them  and get them ready to go. Aiden cried for a few minutes upon getting in the car. Emma was obviously nervous. Both calmed down very quickly, and Aiden fell asleep and took a nice nap.  Riding in the back seat of a car with two toddlers, no seat belts or car seats, was an interesting experience. I still keep worrying about getting pulled over, even though there are no laws about such things in Ukraine.  

We arrive in Brovary (near Kiev) around 2:30PM. The kids were too wound up and excited too take real afternoon naps, so we played, had our first discipline experiences with them, and fed the dinner! The kids sat at the dinner table for almost an hour. They were so happy and well behaved. When we were done, they were still sitting in their chairs and I finally realized that they were waiting to be excused!  I think these too might need to teach Elia some table manners!  

Bathtime was next on the agenda. We bathed them in a pretty large portable bath tub that the Malones had purchases. Emma was petrified and cried through the whole bath. Aiden watched with worry.  Emma calmed immediately, and Aiden took his bath very calmly. Near the end, he started to realize that the bath can be a place to play.  I think both children will have a much more fun bath experience the next time. I will say they smell delightful, and I’m rushing to finish this post so that I can go up and smell their sweet little heads again! Can you believe it, in my bedroom at this very minute two precious miracles are sound asleep!

Tomorrow is a busy day, off to get physicals and visas. Pray for the kids, lots of offices and waiting.  We are hoping Tuesday will be a down day and we have hopes to take them to a large shopping mall to play on an indoor playground. Wednesday morning we fly out at 5:30AM which means leaving the house at 3AM, and arriving in Kansas City at 7:25PM. WE CANNOT WAIT FOR THAT HAPPY REUNION!

I promise pictures will come. I’ll see what I can do tomorrow.

Love to all!

13 thoughts on “We Tucked Our Kids in Bed Tonight

  1. How absolutely glorious…kiss their sweet smelling heads for me. And may sweet deep refreshing sleep be yours as well.

    hugs
    Kimmie
    mama to 7
    one homemade and 6 adopted

  2. It’s surreal for us here too! I am over the moon with joy for you all! The best will be when we see pics of them at home~at last with the whole family together!!

  3. Wonderful, wonderful, WONDERFUL! Yay!!! I am super happy & over joyed for you guys! We’ll keep praying…
    Enjoy the fun travels. 🙂

  4. How cool! Isabelle and I spent most of the day together. It was fun. I’ll try to post some pics on my blog so you can see.
    Love, Pam

  5. We are so excited and praying for you guys!!! We love you guys sooo much and cant wait to get our hands on those little ones!

    Kelsey Hays
    and
    Family

  6. OK, you guys;
    You keep making me cry. I can not even begin to imagine how you two must feel right now. GOD IS SO GOOD.
    I am so excited for you. I am honored that you have allowed me to share in this miracle journey that you have been taking.
    I must swing by your town on my way back from Japan. I would love to see you all, and also go to IHOP. I’ve been hearing a lot about that place these days.
    My prayers are with you as you make the trip home and are reunited with the rest of your children.

    God Bless
    Debbie in JAPAN

  7. Oh my! HOW DIVINE IS THAT? Bet you can’t wait to dress Emma up and have Aiden in boy clothes permanently! Can’t wait to see pictures of the whole fam together!

  8. YEA!!! We’re so excited for you guys and can’t wait for you to be home 🙂 We love you guys!!
    Malcolm and Amy

Leave a Reply

