Uncategorized

Today with Emma

Today we decided that I would go into the playroom again where all the children were playing.  I was immediately attacked by little ones wanting hugs and kisses, and those that can speak call any woman that walks in the room “Mamma.” They are so hungry for love.  

My little on however, held back and went far away from me.  I sat on the floor and just spend time in the room playing, while the nurse sat with her and calmed her down.  I had John go get the doll again to try one more time. This time she allowed the nurse to give it her on my behalf. They were very verbal about it being a gift from me.  She took the doll and played with it. She allowed me to come close and sit on the floor near her. I showed her the button that made the doll talk (in Russian mind you!), and stroked the dolls hair, kissed the dolls check. As I played with the doll, I was then able to touch Emma, stroker her hair, touch her cheek, tweak her on the nose, all without negative reaction. We played with the singing doll for about 20-30 minutes.  The nurses tried to progress to get her to actually sit on my lap, but to no avail.  I decided to leave and visit with Aiden for the last 30 minutes and call it a “good day” with Emma.

Before we left I went in and took Emma a cookie, which she took (not from my hand, but when I placed it on the table in front of her.  I waved good-bye, she responded with a wave.  I kissed her on the cheek, she did not withdraw. The nurse told her to kiss me, and she puckered up and gave me a kiss on the lips. A VERY GOOD DAY!

John went in before we left as well, and gave her a cookie. He was also able to stroke her on the head and give her a kiss on the cheek without any negative reaction.

5 thoughts on “Today with Emma

  1. From Max Lucado’s devotional, “Someone carried the request. Someone walked the trail. Someone went to Jesus on behalf of Lazarus (Emma). And because someone went, Jesus responded.”

    Continuing, ” The phrase the friend of Lazarus used is worth noting. When he told Jesus of the illness, he said, ‘The one you love is sick.’ The power of prayer, in other words, does not depend on the one who makes the prayer but on the one who hears the prayer.”

    Jesus, the ones you love in the Ukraine need your help. Emma needs to know the love that you and the Loux family have for her. Tracie and John need you to intervene and let Aiden and Emma know that you have ordained this adoption. Jesus, Tracie and John need a touch of healing for their temporary heartbreak. They all need to see what you see. Jesus, let them know that everything is going to be alright!

    Love, Terry

  2. It will happen with time, though I know it is not easy. You both are so wise to recognize she’ll need some time, and that it is a process. I think it is great that ya’ll will get to know her first on her turf before you have the long journey home. And actually, from the very very little bit I know about attachment, it sounds like a good thing that she is recognizing her “home” and that you were “new” to her. I will keep praying that the Lord will work a miracle in both these children’s lives. 🙂
    Gretchen

  3. This may sound a little drippy, but I feel so honored to be allowed to follow your journey into Emma’s heart. Your persistance to keep wooing her and your wisdom in entering into her world to meet her there are such a solid picture of God’s journey into our own hearts.

    It’s funny; in the natural I identify so much with what you are going through as parents. In the spirit I identify with Emma, thinking of the times I have run from deeper intimacy with God, afraid of what I might lose if I allow Him into deeper places in my heart. “But Jesus, can’t you just come once in a while and give me an occasional cookie? Do we have to go –there–?”

    What a testimony God is building!

Leave a Reply

