Uncategorized

Separation Anxiety

We have only been away from our three oldest children for 2 weeks, and that was for Elia’s adoption. We haven’t been away from Elia for more than 36 hours. Deep breath.

Today I’m feeling the enormity of what lies ahead for all of us. Over a month of separation. In light of eternity, it is a mere breath, but in light of my present reality, it seems almost eternal.

Bringing Aiden into our family will change us forever. I am so proud of my children for walking into this adoption with hearts wide open. I am so proud that understand James 1:27 and the “spirit of adoption” so deeply that though the sacrifice of the next month will be intense, they know that it has eternal value.

When I think of the moments of pain my heart is about to experience in being separate from four of my children in order to rescue one, I have to force myself to look beyond the month of February. It really is just a vapor.

Though it is so hard for this human heart of mine to be pulled in so many directions and bear so many emotional responses at once, my heart is willing to bear it.

5 thoughts on “Separation Anxiety

  1. This made me think of Luke 15:4–“What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he loses one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the wilderness, and go after the one which is lost until he finds it?”

    How like Jesus, that you are willing to be apart from the four in order to rescue the fifth. Your heart is precious.

  2. I had thought of this previously, I will be praying for God’s grace all over you as you do this brave thing. I know that you will come back even richer with little Aiden but I can truly understand your heart on this. My children are grown and I still don’t go more than 2 weeks generally without seeing them. And don’t get me started on the grandchildren…
    I am so excited for you & your family! XO Sarah
    PS I knew that I knew you were going through the 3rd trimester thing too from remembering your blogging from adopting Elia. You & yours are always in my heart & prayers!

  3. May I suggest Skype video chatting – if you have a mac laptop you can use on both ends that is. It’s free to chat skype to skype, and very cheap to call skype to phone- skype.com. It blessed us while overseas for a few weeks. If they have internet at the place where Aiden is, you could do a family visit with everyone (time change considered).

    I couldn’t imagine being away that long from my boy, but you are going to be given such a grace.

    Bless you.

  4. Just wanted you to know we are praying for you and so excited that the count down is on! Time will fly by and you will be home before you know it. I will be praying that the Holy Spirit will fill each of you with peace and contentment while you are apart and that you will feel united in spirit! Can’t wait to see that sweet boy in your arms!

  5. Yep, we know about Skype. Thanks though! I used that to communicate with Derek and Renee when they were in Ukraine. We just have to resolve some computer issues so the kids have a reliable computer with an icam here at home!

Leave a Reply

