Adoption · Aiden's Adoption

What Next?

The clock is ticking, THANK YOU JESUS, and we’ll be off to get our boy before you know it. Here’s what the process looks like next. I obviously have lots to do to get ready to go on this big trip and to prepare for the household to function in our absence.

John’s mom and dad will be staying with our kids while we’re gone. That is such a huge relief, and we’re so grateful that they can do this for us. On my mind are things like getting bills paid in advance, leaving medical information, and a gazillion other things to make sure the kids are cared for and have what they need while we are gone.

I have a request in to Golden Rule. They help arrange discounted airfare for adoption, humanitarian, and missionary travel. I hope to get our tickets booked by Monday. Pray for a good price on tickets!

We will fly out around February 1st, we need to give ourselves a day to recover from jet lag and account for the time change before our appointment with SDA. Our SDA appointment is February 4th. That is the day we will be given Aiden’s paperwork and confirm that we do indeed want to adopt him. We will then travel to Novograd where the orphange is and move into our flat. I assume that the following day we will get to meet him.

We are then required to spend about 2 1/2 weeks visiting with Aiden daily while being interviewed by doctors, social workers, and the director of the orphanage. At the end of this period, we will be given a court date and will appear before the judge to petition to adopt Aiden. Once the adoption is granted, there is typically a 10 day waiting period (I honestly don’t know what the point of this is). At the end of the waiting period, we get Aiden’s visa, etc and come HOME!

Our plan is that after our court date, John will come home to give our children an emotional reprieve and return to work. I will remain in Ukraine with Aiden where I will be able to visit him daily and continue bonding with him. When our paperwork is finished and I have Aiden’s visa, I will fly home with Aiden.

Pray for us.
1. That the remaining finances would come in. I honestly don’t worry about this. God has been so faithful.
2. Pray for me as I get things in order to travel. It seems a bit overwhelming to me right now.
3. Pray that we can get a good deal on flight and on an apartment in Novograd.

3 thoughts on “What Next?

  1. I am praying and I like you have great confidence in the Lord! So possibly by Aiden’s birthday you could be home with him? Thank you so much for explaining the process, I really appreciate it! Trusting everything will go perfectly with the Lord’s plans for you all!
    XO
    Sarah

  2. Praying….I had no idea that you were so close to getting him. Didn’t you just start this adoption a few months ago…wow, this is really fast!

    God is in all of your details…He was there even before you thought of them.

    Kimmie
    mama to 6
    one homemade and 5 adopted

  3. I am so excited!!! What a journey your little heart has and will be on. God give them strength, grace, favor, and much traveling mercies!
    Kristi Cooper

Leave a Reply

