Adoption · Aiden's Adoption · On My Heart

A Child’s Mite

For the past 4 months, I have taught art to elementary students at The Daniel Academy where two of my children attend. My last class of the afternoon on Friday’s is 1st-3rd grade art. The children have prayer 3 times a day, like Daniel. At the end of art class, I lead the children in their end of the day prayer time.

This semester the children have faithful prayed for the elections, for the ending of abortion, for our new president to come to know the Father and lead the country in righteousness, and for our adoption. These are the things that are on their hearts!

At the beginning of the semester, our need was for $25,000. The children prayed. With in the first week, $5,000 came in. Week after week, the children saw the numbers drop. On the last day of school, I was able to share with them that we only needed about $3,000.

On Thursday evening at the elementary school Christmas program, a young man brought $11.00 to me, his birthday money. He said it was for Aiden. With sincere thanks and an overwhelmed heart, I accepted his offering and prayed a blessing over his life. He told me, “It was really a sacrifice. It’s all I had.”

Yesterday, a first grader came to me, digging deep into his pocket and said, “I have some money for your adoption.” With a beaming countenance, he pulled out a shiny dime. I thanked him profusely and blessed him for giving.

“But a poor widow came and put in two very small copper coins, worth only a fraction of a penny. Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything-all she had to live on.” Mark 12:42-44

These little ones gave all they had. I am believing today that the Father who is faithful will look upon their gifts, see what they have poured into the treasury that is the ransom for Aiden’s life, and will bless them!

At the end of class, the giver of 10 cents, said, “Shouldn’t you change the board, Mrs. Loux?” (referring to the running total of funds the Lord has brought in over the semester). I said, “Yes we should” and the $3,000 became $2,999.90.

6 thoughts on “A Child’s Mite

  1. ya no joke, this made me cry to. Sitting here babies are crying, work is long, etc…then I read this, my heart melted in a moment. I love this so much, thanks for sharing friend 🙂

  2. What an awesome God we serve! Thanks for sharing! Make sure to post pics of these angels/children with Aiden when he comes home! I bet you’ll have a hard time fitting their grins in the frame! Imagine how big our Daddy is grinning now already!
    XO Sarah

  3. Oh, if we as Christians, would have such spirits as these babes. That our hands would be open to needs and that we would give all we had.

    So glad that God is blessing you with your financial need.

    Beautiful!

    Kimmie
    mama to 6
    one homemade adn 5 adopted

Leave a Reply

