A Letter to My Son,

Standard
391062_10101054571427279_147741037_n

Photo courtesy of Steven Michael Photography. http://www.StevenMichaelPhoto.com

Son,

The day I held you in my arms for the first time, you changed my world forever. You taught me how to be a mother. You taught me how to love more deeply that I ever could have imagined.

Your childish antics, your wise-beyond-your-years utterings, your deep thoughts, crazy stunts, and wild dreams made my heart come alive.

I have watched you explore, create, imagine, question, discover, and become.

I love who you have become.

You are a man that I am proud to say is my very own son.

A man I would be honored to call “friend,” even if you were not my own flesh and blood.

You challenge me and inspire me.

562369_10101054566112929_1444673818_n

Photo courtesy of Steven Michael Photography. http://www.StevenMichaelPhoto.com

And you fell in love. You fell deeply in love.

I prayed that you would one day know a love that was pure and rich and deep.

I prayed that you would be able to love from the deepest place of your heart, to lay your life down for love.

You did it. You are doing it.

Love caused you to grow. Love made you a man.

Love will be the thing that will shape you and mold you all of your days.

As you look to the One who loved you first, and model your love after His, you will grow in love and never stop growing.

Tap into that stream, that rich fountain of love, and drink deeply.

As you vow to love and honor and cherish, do it with the stream of His love fully alive in your heart.

As you vow to lead and protect and serve, do it with the stream of His love fully alive in your heart.

I love you, son.

Leave a Reply

