Power of Words

Standard

When we celebrate birthday’s at our house, we always give the gift of words. I don’t care who you are, or what you primary love language is, we all need to have words of encouragement and life spoken over us.

Emma turned 6 a few weeks ago.

Isn’t she just lovely?

Birthday treats! (In case you’re interested: chocolate chip muffins sweetened with maple syrup, fresh fruit and a little whipped topping. The best part- NO SUGAR HIGH!)

Just as sweet as her treat!

When Emma is excited she quivers. This is Emma, super excited for the gift of words to begin!

I love this so much! Like a little love sponge!

All her siblings gave the gift of words.

Emma, you are beautiful.

Emma, you are kind.

Emma, you make us laugh.

Emma, you are strong.

Emma, you are a good swimmer.

Emma, I love you

And on… and on… and on…

Daddy’s words are like life to the spirit, and the heart grows soft under the sound of them.

Momma’s words sinking in. Over and over again, I will tell you.

Emma, you are lovely.

Emma, you are worth it all.

Emma, you are strong and beautiful and kind.

Emma, you make me laugh.

Emma, you are sweet and kind and good.

Emma, Jesus loves you.

It’s quite simple. Before gifts are given, we give the gift of words.

Each family member speaks or prays blessings over the one being celebrated.

No one is in a hurry. And every word is precious.

You should give it a try!

7 responses »

  1. My birthday is this week. I was already planning to give some simple gift to all my family (I often give something to my parents to honor their choice to have and care for me) but this year I wanted to go further. Now I think part might include some special word for each. They would not dream of doing something this beautiful on each individual’s birthday. So Thursday is my day and I can celebrate as I choose. They will have to bear with me. :) What an absolutely beautiful way to instill worth into he heart of a child. Thank you for sharing this Tracie.

  2. You guys are amazing and inspiring. This made me cry. Thank you for sharing your love and your lives with us. :)

  3. OK……..Ummm…..I am crying my eyes out!!! THIS WILL BE A NEW TRADITION IN OUR HOME!!!!! I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! As in REALLY REALLY RALLY LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for sharing- how very very powerful!

  4. Dawn,
    I don’t even remember when it started, but it did. And it was good. Very, very good!

Leave a Reply

